Skip to content

#catladypost

June 16, 2011

I’ve never formally introduced the furriest member of our family on my blog. And since this week has been almost entirely about him, I feel this is as good a time as any.

Meet Asparagus. We call him Gus. He is our 14 pound fur baby.  Gus came into my life nine years ago when the stray cat my mom and I adopted had kittens.  Gus was the firstborn and the biggest. He was one of five surviving kittens in the litter and immediately became my favorite.  Raising kittens was one of my favorite experiences growing up. All five of the kittens, including Gus, were adopted… but Gus didn’t last long in a house of big dogs and adult cats. He came back to us and, with no other interested adopters, stayed with us under the agreement that he was mine and I would take him when I moved out.

Gus, Joe, and I moved in together the summer of 2008. As an anti-social, angry, anxious cat, Gus was not a fan of Joe for a long time. He peed in Joe’s travel bags and threw up under his dining room chair. Gus was not adjusting well, but in time, became a bit more friendly.  As soon as we moved from the apartment to our house in the winter of 2009, Gus became an entirely different cat. He started sleeping with us, came running when called, and even began begging for food (mostly bread crust and string cheese). Gus and Joe are the best of friends now. In the last year and a half, Gus has become a lovable lap cat that rolls over for belly rubs and brings cat nip toys to bed.

Until Tuesday.

Last weekend, I had noticed Gus holding his left ear down. I figured I’d just keep an eye on him, but didn’t even think to check inside his ear. Tuesday morning, I was getting ready to leave for a day at Six Flags and I patted Gus goodbye as napped on the bed. He seemed just fine. I came home that evening, hopped in the shower, and as soon as I was out, Joe said to me: “Get dressed. Gus needs to go to the vet.”

Gus’s ear problem had gotten worse. He was shaking his head violently and meowing pitifully. We got out the crate and he bolted, hiding under our bed. Gus hates being picked up and loathes the crate. So we locked him in the bedroom and Joe took apart the bed with Herculean force. Suffering only one minor scratch, we managed to get him into the crate and to the vet.

Long story short, Gus is suffering from an ear hematoma and a nasty ear infection. We have to give him drops daily for the next week and a half and he goes into the vet for a follow-up on Monday. All in all, he’s back to his normal self, watching birds from the window ledge and flirting with the neighbor’s girl cat through the screen.

At the risk of sounding like Debbie the cat lover, I do adore this furball. He’s been my companion for nine years. I’ve watched him grow from a tiny kitten asleep in the palm of my hand to the giant Maine Coon tomcat he is today. I suppose the emergency vet trip made me realize how much I appreciate him and how lucky we are to have this fuzz face in our lives.

Babies, schmabies. Cats are the shit.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2011 10:18 am

    I’m so glad he’s ok and feeling better! I get worried when my Roxy cat gets a HAIRBALL sometimes, ha. I love my furbaby, and I know the kind of companions they can become!

  2. June 16, 2011 10:23 am

    I’m not a cat lady but I do adore this post, it reminded me of how my mom is with her dog (a Pug named Cooper with a tendency to think he’s human and a love for ice cream and Bravo tv). I love seeing how much people love their animals. Okay that last line sounded completely cheeseball, but it’s 100% true. Glad Gus is feeling better!

  3. June 16, 2011 11:01 am

    i love that you named him (aspara)gus! and im so, so happy he’s doing better! i can totally relate to how you must have felt about your little furbaby when you knew he wasn’t himself. glad he’s on the mend!

  4. June 16, 2011 11:42 am

    I’m so happy everything turned out ok and he’s doing much better! I’m not really a cat person (more of an animals in general person), but we always had cats and dogs growing up so I know how attached you get to them. They truly are part of the family.

    I’m with Meg, CUTEST name!!

  5. June 16, 2011 1:45 pm

    Until I got my cat in January, I didn’t really understand them and thought they were so standoffish compared to dogs, which I grew up with. Then I got Harold and I totally get it now. I hope Gus feels better soon.

  6. June 16, 2011 2:47 pm

    So glad that Gus is feeling better! I hate it when Jack isn’t feeling well; one of the worst feelings out there. Hope the ear infection goes away quickly.

  7. June 16, 2011 10:10 pm

    I am glad that your baby is okay! I would have been worried too. My little Octavian is my baby and I can’t imagine my world without him. Yes, cats rule!!

  8. June 17, 2011 5:13 pm

    aw glad he’s okay! and yay for furbabies! i have none of my own, so i naturally love everyone else’s, haha.

  9. Mom permalink
    June 17, 2011 6:04 pm

    Nice to see the photos of my grandkitty! Ivana sends her love to her son! We both wish Gusser a speedy recovery! This post officially makes me a crazy cat lady…

  10. June 18, 2011 4:31 pm

    I am so glad he is okay. Seems like how things work around here, B always figures out when something is wrong with the animals, and then we feel bad ignoring the “signs” that werent really signalling us after all. Go Gus!

  11. June 19, 2011 2:45 pm

    Since I’m a cat lady sans cat I very much relate to this 🙂 I haven’t had a kitten since high school (college and grad school apartment living) but one of the things I am MOST looking forward to when I move next year (probably) is being able to get a cat again. Crazy cat ladies unite!

  12. June 19, 2011 6:10 pm

    Joe and Gus’s relationship sounds a lot like Winston and Lucy’s at first and now.

    I’m glad that Gus is well on his way to feeling better, and you don’t sound like a crazy cat lady. (Or maybe that just means that I’m a crazy dog lady? Hmmmm.)

  13. June 21, 2011 4:14 pm

    Very glad to hear that Gus is on the road to recovery.

    Cute girl cats dig cat ear scars. True story.

Leave a Reply

