Skip to content

June 2011

June 20, 2011

This summer is full of reading reading reading, coffee coffee coffee, running running running, and serving serving serving.

Though it may not seem too structured, I’m finding a routine that works. Waking up early for a run (unless it’s raining, which it’s been doing. A LOT.), brewing a pot of coffee, and settling in to read for my independent study, my thesis, or the GRE. Pajamas until lunchtime. Firing up the blender for an afternoon smoothie. Evenings waiting tables (and seeing an absurd number of my professors visiting my restaurant). Sore feet, sore calves, under-the-weather cat cuddles, and bike rides.

The pace is slow, but it requires previously unknown levels of motivation. Or it’s a step in the direction of deliberate living.

Or laziness.

You decide.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2011 11:19 am

    Wait, you’re taking the GRE? Aren’t you already in grad school? I missed something, haha.

  2. June 20, 2011 1:00 pm

    I don’t know how you do it all, but these little updates give a little bit more oomph to my hope of eventually returning to school and working my way through it. In other news – love the Pebbles-esque topknot, ha.

  3. June 20, 2011 6:14 pm

    love the photo montage seriously. and you are a champ for the phd, woo wee.

  4. June 20, 2011 6:35 pm

    Your summer plans sound a lot like my own – especially on the PJ front! Also, Beyond Barbie and Mortal Kombat? I’m intrigued… is this related to the subject of your thesis? Good luck!

  5. June 20, 2011 7:47 pm

    I definitely consider this being motivated and self-driven. I’m working part-time until my new job begins in August, and I’m certainly not going for runs, doing some reading, or brewing coffee before noon. I’m pretty impressed, actually. Go, Renee, go.

  6. June 21, 2011 10:55 am

    You are such an academic inspiration, Renee : )

  7. June 21, 2011 6:16 pm

    I’m going to have to figure out the self-structured thing starting this Fall. And I’m very nervous. I need regular deadlines!

  8. June 23, 2011 12:21 pm

    Ah, the rain. Could it stop now?
    You’re pretty awesome, just so you know.
    I go back and forth between living in PJs until lunch time or actually being motivated to get up and not be in PJs so I can properly start my work day. Today: jeans + sweatshirt. We’ll call it a wash 🙂

  9. June 29, 2011 12:07 pm

    So you’re basically the cutest thing ever, you know that, right?

    And your summer sounds absolutely amazing! I’m excited for you!

Leave a Reply

