Skip to content

The Confessional: Tell me your secrets

June 24, 2011

Things I feel like confessing on a cold, dreary Friday afternoon:

  • I know I could make more money waiting tables just about anywhere else in town. But I don’t feel like learning a new system. I’ve been there so long that I can just set myself on auto-pilot.
  • As much as I think we do need to get more girls interested in math and science, I think it is just as important to get more boys interested in the humanities and social sciences. Last semester, I shared an office with 15 TAs, only three of whom were male.
  • I tell myself it’s only a matter of time until everyone in my life reads this blog, and truthfully, I’m okay with that. So why do I still panic every time I see someone has Googled my full name?
  • I worry that I send public tweets really meant for direct messages every. single. time. I have asked Brandy to not let me be Weinered. I’m going to pretend to take credit for coining that term.
  • I’ve been spending entirely too much time online lately and I sorta hate myself for it.
  • I know everyone’s secrets. I don’t know why but people are just comfortable confiding in me. A lot. Don’t get me wrong, I’m totally okay with it, but my hair is getting too big to hold many more. #MeanGirlsreferenceofcourse
3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2011 2:38 pm

    I have watched 3 Grey’s Anatomy episodes today while working. I know, terrible.

    Also, for the first time ever, I’m using my CrockPot. I’ve had it for what, two years, and just now using it for the first time?

    I’m also really excited to spend a few hours reading this weekend. Perhaps more than I should be.

  2. June 28, 2011 7:17 pm

    I teach at an English uni and my class is largely male. However, in my course on American Literature, all the boys want to talk about is ‘On the Road’. And my related confession? When I taught that course, I’d never read Kerouac.

  3. June 29, 2011 12:05 pm

    I panic when someone finds my blog my Googling my full name, too. Like crazy. Even though that I accept the fact that everyone in my life will eventually know about my blogs.

    And a secret? Umm, it is slowly becoming a habit for me to shower at night. Which isn’t a problem, but it is SO DAMN HOT down here already, and I just don’t want to deal with showering in the morning, no matter how more human it makes me feel. (That’s gross, huh?)

Leave a Reply

