Skip to content

What the Allergies?

June 27, 2011

Dear allergy season,

I’m not quite sure when you started to be a pain in my ass, but the last couple of days have sucked. I know I bought that Benadryl for a reason last summer but I can’t imagine I have ever sneezed like this in my life. Remember that time the ophthalmologist looked at my eyelids and told me I had allergies and I laughed at her? Because, I mean, No, I don’t. But apparently I do. Ohhh, do I have allergies.

I’m sure, compared to many allergy sufferers, my woes are minimal, however I still feel like they’re nothing to sneeze at. (Pun absolutely intended.) I’ve got the sniffles morning, noon, and night… the itchy eyes… the sneezes — ohhh, the sneezes.  It’s probably unhealthy to sneeze as much as I have in the last three days. I’ve been carrying a box of tissues around the house with me. And I’m kicking myself for buying the cheap ones. My kingdom for some Kleenex with lotion right now.

The worst part is, dear allergy season, that I don’t know what I’m allergic to. Is it the rain? Grass? Mold? Dust? Pet dander? Husband dander? The Food Network? Fun? Beer? A little help here, allergy season. At least make the allergen obvious.

The cat has an ear infection and I have allergies. We’re just gonna snuggle on the couch until we feel better.
Bye forever. Send Benadryl.

xoxo,
Renee

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2011 11:27 am

    I’m sorry you are feeling sick. The summer is seriously no time for that!

    Have you tried using local honey to combat the allergies? Maybe you’ve tried this, maybe it won’t work, but in my opinion, if you can find some local, native honey, it’s worth a shot. Mike’s allergies were TERRIBLE last year, very similar to what you are describing and someone recommended eating a spoonful of local honey a day. The stuff if absolutely delicious and if you don’t like it by itself, you can always add it to tea, coffee, etc. For him, it works LIKE A CHARM. It was almost instantly bye bye Benadryl.

    Hope this helps, but regardless, I’ll cross my fingers for you to feel much better soon!

    • June 27, 2011 1:23 pm

      I haven’t tried anything except Benadryl because I’m so shocked that it’s been a problem and I almost don’t believe it. BUT, I do have some local honey. I can’t believe I hadn’t thought to use it yet!!

  2. June 27, 2011 5:36 pm

    ugh allergies really are the worst. my body has stopped cooperating with any sort of meds so i just suffer and sneeze through it all. hope your body gets the memo to stop being allergic to the season soon!

  3. June 29, 2011 12:01 pm

    Goodness. I hope you and Gus feel better ASAP. Allergies are nothing to laugh about, no matter how severe or not. They’re just miserable. I found that going to an allergist helped me out, though, and one might be able to help you find the right kind of medication or exactly what is aggravating your allergies so you can avoid it/know what to expect?

    Feel better!

  4. June 29, 2011 12:29 pm

    Allergies suck, especially when you don’t know what’s causing them. I know my dogs bother me sometimes, but only when they sneak onto the bed at night and sleep too close to my face.

    And Puffs Plus! You need the Puffs Plus to save your poor nose from cheap tissue!

Leave a Reply

