Skip to content

Summer slump

July 6, 2011

I’ve come to a realization: I got a ton more done when I have a ton to do.

In other words, I overload because it’s the only way I ever get shit done. No wonder I get burnt out so easily. I say yes yes yes to all of the above and then I crash crash crash when it’s all done.

And then I dabble a bit in the summer with an independent study, some thesis work, and, hey, I guess I’ll set up some Ph.D. program visits, and hey, I guess I’ll retake the GRE in an attempt to make me more competitive, and I guess I’ll wait tables 2-3 times a week, and I guess I’ll go to three trillion weddings… But that’s clearly not enough to do.

I’ve spent a lot of time on my couch reading blogs or Damn You Autocorrect or playing this freaking canary game that I’m absolutely addicted to… and I realize I have way too much time on my hands even with all those things I should be (and totally am!) doing.

In other words, I’m bored. I don’t have students emailing me at all hours with funny questions about tomorrow’s assignment. I don’t have three hours of Media, Entertainment, & Citizenship class to sit through. I’m not meeting my friends for coffee before class. I’m not cranking out 20 pages this weekend. I don’t have any assigned episodes of Kate & Allie or Mary Tyler Moore to watch.

I mean, I know there are things I should be doing (and I am!) but I’m just not doing ALL THE THINGS like I usually am during the school year. And if I’m not doing ALL THE THINGS then I’m simply not being productive. How’s that for screwed up?

I know, I know, I’ve had time to bake and time to run and time to cook AMAZING dinners. And that’s all fine and dandy and YES I’m grateful but… man, what I would give for a deadline staring me in the face.

Oh yeah, that’s called “Renee, you retake the GRE a week from today.”

Time to go relearn geometry or something
Ugh, I got a D in high school geometry…

Photo: The Sparknotes GRE study guide is one of the funniest study guides in the history of ever. Read the sentence after the equation. Totes how I feel sometimes. Still.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2011 12:16 pm

    I feel the same way. I was doing over a full time load, and working three jobs, and doing extra-curriculars one quarter… and it was sort awesome.

    Though I was happy to have three weeks break from school, I’ve been keeping busy with design conferences and working with the marching band. Don’t know if I’d have it any other way. … Sometimes I wonder if women are just wired differently so we can handle OMG SO MUCH at once. Built to multitask or just be awesome.

  2. July 6, 2011 1:11 pm

    I am 100% the same way. The best semesters in college were the ones that I was taking a full course load, working, and leading a ton of student orgs… if I didn’t have to schedule my day, nothing happened. It’s been the hardest part of being pregnant I think, I’ve been so cozy-no-plans I’ve started to get antsy because I’m not doing a damn thing. Must fix that.

  3. angelasw permalink
    July 6, 2011 3:31 pm

    SPARKNOTES HAS A GRE PREP GUIDE?! How come you’re waiting until now to tell me? I used Kaplan’s and it was helpful (I did really well on the vocab and writing, but absolutely awful on the math) but BORING AS HELL. I’m super jealous of your find. Good luck!

  4. July 6, 2011 9:56 pm

    I am the same way.
    I thought being unemployed would lead to me doing ALL THE THINGS I’ve wanted to do for months (organize closets/kitchen/read/redo my blog/work on various personal projects/spend tons of time at the gym). Instead, the laundry has sat in a basket for days and I managed to hit the gym for an hour today. Go me.
    Seriously, without deadlines and a sense of impending doom I’m useless.

  5. July 7, 2011 12:57 am

    Me too. To all of it. And it makes me realize that my self-worth is a litttttle too tied up in doing ALL THE THINGS, because when I’m not doing all the things, I’m more unsure of myself.

  6. July 7, 2011 5:31 pm

    Ugh! Don’t you hate that? I am off for the summer as a teacher and I can’t seem to get anything done and yet when I am busy as hell during the school year I am super productive. *sigh* I did finally clean my kitchen yesterday. Now, if I can just clean my room and do laundry…

  7. July 8, 2011 8:18 pm

    So true. Ostensibly, I have the summer ‘off’ ` meaning that I’m not teaching classes and I’m abroad. However, I have lots of deadlines for September. I think it’s just that it seems so far away (it totally isn’t!) and I have so many other things to do (making amazing dinners, cleaning the bathroom, admiring the expansion of my spice rack with something akin to glee…)

    I think it helps to *go somewhere* to work ~ I spent the day at the library yesterday and I think because the only thing I allowed myself to do there was read journals, I got 8 straight hours of study in. Which, for me, is verging on miraculous!

    Good luck juggling your summer projects!

  8. July 19, 2011 6:21 am

    Sounds too familiar. If there’s no “knife to my throat”, I get nothing done.

Leave a Reply

