Skip to content

Necessities for GRE studying

July 11, 2011

A: Sparknotes Guide to the GRE Test, a funny, elementary guide to everything you’re expected to know

B: a boatload of scratch paper and writing utensils

C: a book of practice exams from the library that smells like your grandmother’s attic

D: handmade flashcards of words you swear don’t exist but actually do and now you’re expected to find their analogies and stuff

E: scratch paper for your engineer husband/requisite math tutor so he can finish all the practice problems before you

F: Your tutor can cheat with a calculator. You cannot.

G: one of many “Top GRE vocab words” lists you must study

H: supplies to make your own flashcards

I: computer to check your email to see if any Ph.D. programs have written back about visits or to see if the GRE has finally been deemed torture and scores are no longer necessary for admittance

J: leftover wrapping paper from all those wedding gifts, please disregard the mess

Not pictured
K: a cup of coffee surgically attached to my left hand
L: pajamas consisting of junior high gym shorts and Notre Dame football t-shirts
M: a cuddly cat vying for my attention

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2011 10:42 am

    Love this!! I just changed my graduate degree focus, and in order to apply to some of the PhD programs I want, I have to take the GRE before the August 1st deadline when they change the exam format. So here I am, in a situation much like you, books and flashcards scattered around my table, trying to remember that I AM smarter than a 5th grader when it comes to math (simple arithmetic and algebra is laaaame).

    Best of luck to you!!

  2. July 11, 2011 12:09 pm

    i think this is the most adorable post i’ve seen all day. i mean look at you all organized like. i don’t even know how i’d even begin to study if i were in your shoes!

  3. July 11, 2011 12:19 pm

    I love this post – cute idea to get your point across! Good luck with the GRE – just remember to study the “how to take the test” stuff too (ie, when to skip a question, when to guess, etc) !

  4. July 11, 2011 3:21 pm

    Oh man! That SHOULD have been me before I took the GRE, but instead I decided to wing it and just take the test which was kind of a big mistake and a waste of money ;( Ah well, you live you learn. Good luck!

  5. July 11, 2011 3:36 pm

    Might I add to the list?
    N: A beer (or three) for when it’s 1am and you just can’t read over the damn page one more time. Or at least that’s how the bar works?

    Kick that exam’s ass! It’ll totally be worth it!

  6. July 11, 2011 6:55 pm

    Love it. šŸ™‚ I would also add wine. But then again, I didn’t so great on the GRE. So that one should probably be left off the list. šŸ˜‰
    A friend of mine was studying for the LSAT at the same time I was studying for the GRE. We looked at the word of the day daily and each created a sentence using that word and emailed it to each other every morning.
    I also used to carry around my flashcards all day for about a year. I was working retail at the time, so everyone at my counter would practice making up sentences with me to help me study. Good times.

  7. July 11, 2011 9:43 pm

    This is pretty much my view as well šŸ˜ Thank goodness for coffee, ha! I just tell myself that at least there’s no math on my exam, ha!

  8. July 12, 2011 9:49 am

    This is pretty great, though it makes me nervous, since I’m merely considering grad school and I haven’t done any studying in four years. I also don’t have a dining room table to hold it all.

  9. July 17, 2011 8:24 pm

    Ahh, this makes me just that much more happy about having decided not to go to grad school. šŸ™‚ You rock, girlie!

  10. July 21, 2011 5:11 pm

    eeesh, good luck!

    I would use freerice.com to study vocab words. They weren’t always the top GRE words, but it felt nice using it and donating rice to places in need.

  11. July 23, 2011 2:48 pm

    I don’t know how I missed this but I am definitely passing it along to all of my GRE prepping friends…and flagging it for when I inevitably change my mind about stopping at my MA and have to take the stupid thing all over again…

  12. July 23, 2011 2:51 pm

    Also: you ought to add an asterisk or something to this to note that the engineer husband is not included.

Leave a Reply

