Skip to content

amazing things abound

August 1, 2011

My friend told me today, “When you’re passionate about something, God has a place for you somewhere. He wouldn’t give you a passion without having a place for you to use it.”

Don’t believe in God? Replace that with The Universe, or any greater good you prefer.
I’ve always believed everything happens for a reason, that we’re products of opportunity, and those opportunities arise to lead us to other opportunities.

When I worked for the Congresswoman, we decided that we needed to hire a caseworker to work solely with veterans. We wanted a veteran. We sifted through resumes and the senior staff conducted interviews. They had decided on a candidate, but weren’t too excited about him; he was not a vet, but he was bright and dedicated.
Before the senior staff made the offer, the Congresswoman received a letter. All her mail came to me first and I passed each letter along to the proper staffer. This letter was from a veteran; she was concerned about the lack of good jobs available to vets after coming home.  She was a part of this demographic–educated, finally home for good, and unemployed for quite some time.  In other words, she sounded perfect for our position and she didn’t even know we were looking for her. But she left no phone number and she wasn’t in our constituent database. I employed my Googling skills.

I left a message for Julia that afternoon.
She returned my call the next morning.
I arranged an interview for later that week.
She was practically hired on the spot.

Everything happens for a reason. And if you’ve been blessed with passion, there’s a place in this world for you.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2011 8:48 pm

    I completely and entirely agree. I love hearing stories like this, when things fall together just perfectly!

  2. August 2, 2011 2:21 pm

    I agree, completely. Even the bad stuff, the rough, make you curl in a ball and cry for weeks stuff, happens for some reason.

  3. August 2, 2011 4:13 pm

    This made me a little misty-eyed, not gonna lie. How wonderful.

  4. August 2, 2011 9:59 pm

    I needed to read this today. Thanks for sharing, Renee.

Leave a Reply

