Skip to content

Review: Just Dance Summer Party

August 16, 2011

Remember that time I fell off the face of the planet for a couple of weeks? Well, I had two weeks of summer to soak up ferociously before TA training and classes begin, so that’s my excuse. You’ll get a post about it later this week.

On a lazy weekend afternoon, Joe and I decided to fire up Just Dance Summer Party that Clever Girls Collective had sent me.  Our first mistake was playing an interactive dancing game on a lazy afternoon. We worked up a sweat in no time.

You guys, it was ridiculous.

The music selection is a bit lacking, because, really, who wants to dance to “Mambo Number 5” if you’re not stuck in a 2002 time warp?  But Estelle’s “American Boy” was my jam for awhile so of course that was the first tune I selected.  Joe and I played a duet, so we both danced at the same time… although, for some reason, the first player was the dude and the second player was the chick. Of course, we could have switched controllers, but there’s nothing funnier to me than my husband trying to move his hips like a lady.  Needless to say, I kicked his ass.  But he always kicks mine at Guitar Hero, so the victory felt pretty sweet.

All in all, this game’s biggest flaw is its music selection, but I imagine it would make a raucous party even more ridiculous with enough people and adult beverages.  Or, you know, with kids or something.  We certainly got some good belly laughs out of it… because, really, Joe attempting to dance Bollywood to “Jai Ho” might be one of the greatest things to ever happen to me.

Thank you to Ubisoft for sponsoring this UbiChamps blog post. Please click here to learn more about Ubisoft. I was selected for this sponsorship by the Clever Girls Collective. All opinions are my own.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2011 6:18 pm

    i am seriously obsessed with Just Dance 2 so i might have to check this out too, just because. most fun work out ever.

  2. August 17, 2011 5:32 am

    Ah, this sounds hilarious! I have been meaning to try a dance game like Just Dance for awhile. Have you tried the other versions of the game? Is the music better?

    • August 29, 2011 12:05 pm

      This is the only version I’ve tried. I’m sure you could find track lists online, though!

Leave a Reply

