Skip to content

a final taste of summer

August 17, 2011

My blog has been notably quiet the last few weeks, and with good reason.

I finished my independent study and promptly took up the Harry Potter series. I’ve never read it before. I am attempting to finish it before classes start on Monday. Truthfully, I will probably finish it in the next two days because I’ve been DEVOURING them.  (And it looks as though Nicole did, too, as she’s giving away the entire series over here.) I borrowed the books from Erin, who, upon my request, told me she is looking forward to a feminist analysis of the series. So, look forward to that, blogosphere.

Aside from burying my nose in Hogwarts, Joe and I have taken the last two weeks to drink up summer. We celebrated our second anniversary (August 8 ) in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin at a “bed and breakfast” which was really just a lakeside motel that served continental breakfast (color us disappointed). But, we wandered the shops and I fell in love with this piece of ridiculous antique-ness:

Really, all I want in life is $600 of fun money to purchase this to hang in my living room. A part of me died a little when I had to leave it hanging in the shop.

This past weekend, we took a last minute hiking trip to Starved Rock State Park and hiked about six miles along the Illinois River, through canyons and and bluffs. We picnicked at the top of a canyon we climbed and watched pelicans (pelicans!) from an overlook.  It rained on the last couple minutes of our hike, but at the point it felt awesome.  We drove up to Shabbona Lake State Park to camp for the evening, which is exactly what I needed this summer.

Also, if you’re going to the 20sb Summit this weekend, let me know! I’ll be there helping out in sessions so please tackle hug me ASAP.

Oh, and remember that time Allie gave away a photo session on Facebook and I won it? We met up with her in Chicago last week and, since we never had engagement photos done, we made up for it!  Thank you, Allie, we love them.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2011 10:12 am

    Love, love, love, love, LOVE the photos. LOVE. Really. Love.

    I am so glad you bit the Harry Potter bullet. I cannot wait for your analysis.

  2. August 17, 2011 4:22 pm

    i’m starting Harry Potter soon and honestly cannot wait! also, LOVE those pictures. so cute. and perfect colors on both of you.

  3. August 17, 2011 6:42 pm

    aww the pictures are fab! btw is your dress from shabby apple?

  4. August 20, 2011 1:26 am

    Love, love, love the photos. You and Joe look so darn happy! Also, like Erin- I am so glad you jumped on a broom and traveled to Hogwarts. And I am looking forward to your thoughts when you post them. I’m ridiculously sad that I’m not in Chicago this weekend but I know you are going to have the best time (even with your nutty schedule!). Tackle hug everyone for me and have a blast.

    (And I have to admit- if I had seen that sign up in a shop, you would have been the first person I would have thought of!)

  5. August 21, 2011 12:09 am

    Ahh, can’t wait to hear your unique take on the Harry Potters. I read them this summer too but for, like, the 7th time. Matt doesn’t like to read and because I love the books so much, I told him I would read them to him. It took a while but it was worth it!

    I love those photos! Allie did a great job and the Beloved technique is the best! You two are just adorable. 🙂

  6. August 21, 2011 5:23 am

    Loving the dress! Happy (belated) anniversary!

Leave a Reply

