Skip to content

#20sbsummit & some changes at BelleRenee

August 23, 2011

This weekend, I attended the first annual 20sb Summit in Chicago. I am thrilled to be a part of the 20sb Management Team and even more thrilled to have had a hand in this Summit.

It was a blast to meet and see my blog friends from all over the United States and Canada. I won’t rehash the whole thing on this blog, as I’m sure you can find wrap up posts and recaps through the official hashtag feed. Instead, I want to discuss the aftermath of the summit.

After dinner Sunday night with Jamie, Erin, Ben, Jenny, and Doni, I walked to the train station with giant crocodile tears streaming down my cheeks.  The weekend was far more inspirational than I had anticipated. And, for once, I felt like I truly belonged.  I’ve written before about how I sometimes feel out of place and without a core group of friends. But this weekend was different.

But beyond it being a meaningful social event, because the summit was ultimately about blogging and bloggers, I came away from it feeling inspired to put the effort into this blog that it so desperately needs. I have been half-assing it, to be blunt, phoning it in. I have this amazing platform, I’ve built an amazing community of readers, and I feel like I’m not doing it justice. So I’m going to change that.

What to Expect

As much as I would love to self-host and get a professional redesign, that’s simply not in the budget. Instead, I’m going to create more focused content. I already have lots of ideas, but expect them to evolve.  For now, suffice it to say I will write one of my popular smarty-pants posts analyzing media from a feminist perspective each week but I’ll continue reflecting on personal experiences as well. In general, there will be much more content on this blog starting in the next two weeks.

Also, I spent all today recategorizing my old posts in an effort to separate the personal from the academic portions of this blog. (Much to the chagrin of your feed readers, apparently I was also republishing all my old posts – SO SORRY!!) There will soon be an easy way to view these categories, too. Look for that soon.

The bottom line is this: The 20sb Summit was one of the best experiences of my summer. It inspired me to cultivate the friendships I already have. It inspired me to cultivate the online space I already have. And it inspired me to embrace the uncertainty of all of it.


10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2011 5:40 pm

    Love this, and loved all the time I got to spend with you! Can’t wait to see the freshness here, and don’t worry – there’s still an email coming soon with all the juicy inspirational stuff from that dinner conversation 🙂 xo!

  2. August 23, 2011 6:32 pm

    love it. so glad you had such a fabulous weekend with everyone! and love that everyone has come out of it saying how much they felt refreshed and inspired and just a part of something bigger, truly is wonderful.

  3. August 23, 2011 7:51 pm

    So jealous that I you were there! I have been reading all the responses and it seems that the weekend was really inspirational. Congrats on reconnecting to your blog and getting some bloggy motivation. Oh and PS, you can buy a doman through wordpress for like $25 a year. It isn’t complete self hosting, but you won’t have to be a dot wordpress dot com.

  4. August 24, 2011 7:55 am

    yay! excited to be here and see the changes firsthand!

  5. August 24, 2011 7:58 am

    SO. EXCITED. to read all your smarty pants stuff. I’m sort of in the same mindset, like I don’t want to write just fluffy stuff and want to write MEANINGFUL THINGS so I’m looking to you for inspiration 🙂

    Loved seeing you this weekend. Your charm and wit and energy is infectious ❤

  6. August 24, 2011 9:35 am

    I love all of this IMMENSELY.

  7. August 24, 2011 9:56 am

    I’m so excited to read more from you, Renee. You’re one of my favorite writers 🙂 Glad you had such an amazing weekend.

  8. August 24, 2011 12:53 pm

    i’m glad you had such a great experience, i feel like it was a retreat of sorts for all involved.

    too bad i was/am too old to attend it looks like you guys had simply the best time EVER.

    look forward to reading more my dear 🙂

  9. August 25, 2011 4:33 pm

    I feel like I left with about four thousand ideas and things I want to do. Very excited to see the changes 🙂

  10. September 1, 2011 8:17 am

    Can I just say how excited I am for you about these changes you’re enacting at your blog and that I cannot wait to read more of your writing?! SO happy we got to spend so much time together that weekend and that we all took so much out of the conference!

Leave a Reply

