Skip to content

Here’s to a New Semester

August 29, 2011

Last week I learned how difficult it is to start a new schedule.  I feel as though I had finally adjusted to the summer, but school has started again and I’m “enjoying” my 14 hour days.

I learned that the motivation and inspiration I had last school year is not coming back as easily as I had hoped this year.  I had cultivated impressive time management skills last school year, but I’m already feeling as though I’m struggling to keep my head above water.

That’s just how it is when you hit the ground running, though.  I tried to suck all I could out of my last couple of weeks of summer and I’m reluctant to let that go.  I’m ready to be working towards school-oriented goals, but when I’m standing at the bottom of those goals, looking up to the peaks, I feel so overwhelmed. I would rather turn the clocks back two weeks, turn around and run towards my couch and my cat and my books.

But I’m not one to shy away.  As exhausting and daunting as the new semester may seem, it’s a chance to prove myself once again.  It’s the chance to prove to myself that I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and doggone it, people like me.

 

Here goes nothing.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2011 9:22 pm

    My goodness, I feel the same way! For me it’s the second week of school and all the excitement and anticipation has given way to the giant slew of work that lays before me.

  2. August 30, 2011 2:52 pm

    I do not miss school in the least, so I can’t even imagine having to gear back up for 14 hour days! You are a brilliant rockstar though, so I’m sure you’ll settle in and get back in the swing of things soon 🙂

  3. August 31, 2011 4:49 pm

    Getting back into the swing of things – whether it’s work or school – is always challenging. You’re going to be great this semester, though, and I am super excited to see where it takes you!

Leave a Reply

