Skip to content

Weekend Wins

September 19, 2011

This weekend was full of super duper wins.

On Friday, I worked at the restaurant and no one made me cry this time. In fact, I made more money than I have in a long time.  Regardless, I had an epiphany—this job is getting in the way. I had told myself that I would continue waiting tables until it got in the way of my priorities. And it’s officially gotten in the way. So on Saturday, I quit.  But I quit with the understanding that I could pick up shifts whenever I want/need. Um, greatest job ever, right? I love that restaurant.

On Saturday, my fighting Irish won their first game!  It looked like a beautiful day in South Bend for a football game and I almost wish we would’ve been there.  Despite some smack talk from my MSU alum friend Jessica, I got the final word by leaving this on her desk this morning.

On Sunday morning, I read a bunch of articles for class. One of said articles was by Judith Butler whose book I struggled through last year.  But on Sunday, the article was not only easy, it was enjoyable. I guess I am learning something in grad school. 🙂

Also on Sunday, Friday Night Lights got the recognition it has deserved for so long.  Jason Katims won an Emmy for best writing and the admirable Kyle Chandler picked up an Emmy for Best Lead Actor.  I now want to watch the entire series all over again.  Clear eyes, full hearts, can’t lose.

Lastly, I demolished my opponent in Fantasy Football. The score currently sits at 106-20 and I still have a running back to play tonight. WIN!

Tell me about your epic wins this weekend.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2011 11:20 am

    I had a pretty slow weekend, with only a couple tiny wins, and a couple losses.
    Win 1: Dinner and a show with my father and his family.
    Win 2: Breakfast with my mom the next morning.
    Win 3: Had a good music discovery day on Sunday.
    Loss 1: Got my ass handed to me in FF. Stupid D/ST was -7. What??
    Loss 2: My “real” football team lost too. But that means my FF QB had a good day.

  2. September 19, 2011 1:05 pm

    That’s pretty awesome that the restaurant lets you come back in to pick up shifts whenever you like! My weekend was full of epic wins – I spent most of Saturday and Sunday with my boyfriend (when usually we only see each other one night a week), we saw Neon Trees for free at a local music festival on Saturday night, and I got Taco Bell for lunch on Sunday after craving it for weeks.

  3. September 19, 2011 5:21 pm

    Sounds like a great job to have for those moments when you might need a little cash. And congrats on the Irish win!

  4. September 20, 2011 7:33 pm

    My weekend was full of win. Saturday we hit a local Oktoberfest, drank delicious beer and ate delicious pretzels, then hit the very last baseball game of the season. Sunday was another win with an Armenian Food Festival. I just really like food, I guess, and having lots of it means I had a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

