Skip to content

Powerful Woman Monologues

November 11, 2011

A few weeks ago, I watched Miss Representation, a documentary discussing the media’s negative impact on women.  I was struck at how powerless the media makes women seem and how much that can affect our understanding of empowerment.  Yet we are not powerless.  My first response to issues that seek to render us powerless is, What can I do to counter this?  Inspired by the film’s call the action, I have decided to create a guest blogging series right here on this blog, tentatively called “Powerful Woman Monologues” and would like to invite you to participate.

There are no guidelines for this guest blogging series.  I encourage you to be as creative as you wish.  You may record a video blog, design a graphic image, write a poem or song, create a photo essay, or craft a personal testimony around this very broad topic.

Some questions to get you thinking:

How do I define power? How do I demonstrate female power? How do I or can I encourage and empower other women? What media messages piss me off and how can I counter them? What experience made me realize how much power I have? What experience undermined my power and how can I defy that and respond? When do I feel most empowered?

It’s time to reclaim our power as women.  Let’s start a movement together.

If you would like to be a part of this mini revolution, email me your contribution with a 3-4 sentence bio. Be sure to include any accompanying media (creative commons photos/personal photos encouraged with essay contributions).

Did you miss the documentary on TV? You’re in luck! It’s airing again tomorrow, Nov. 12 on OWN at 11 am Eastern. Set your DVR!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2011 5:51 pm

    De-lurking here (Hiii Renee), and I’ve seen that doc floating around but have not seen it. I just wanted to interject that I don’t really pay much attention to the media because for me, women tend to be represented by their respective blogs, which means I find myself surrounded by strong women a lot. I find that on the social web, women are the majority, and moreover, they seem to always have unfaltering convictions, are incredibly spiritually durable, are brave enough to be vulnerable. Nobody can scoff at that.

    Women are already quite powerful in my eyes, and I count many a woman blogger as one of my role models. I imagine that’s true of a lot of other male blog readers. But I owe that to paying attention to what women say (write? publish?) rather than how they seem to be represented.

    Anyway, what I’m saying is that I think the empowerment is pretty evident from over on this side of the screen. What I think what readers need to know is how media perpetuates a myth of weakness.

    • November 12, 2011 4:16 pm

      Exactly, Nico!! The media perpetuates a myth of weakness… I love that turn of phrase. I agree that women on the web (at least in the crew we both tend to run with) are generally so, so, so wonderful. However, that’s not entirely the case… an argument I’m trying to make in my thesis. But I would love to use my blog as a platform to call out the bullshit, online and off.

  2. November 12, 2011 4:06 pm

    Ooh, I wanna do this! I will e-mail you soon 😉 When do you need it by?

    • November 12, 2011 4:14 pm

      I would like to begin the guest blogging series in January, but I need some submissions before I start! xoxo

  3. November 18, 2011 9:24 am

    Hey There. I will definitely send somethign to you. I’ve got insane amounts of deadlines for school by the end of the year though, so it might not be until the end of December… But I am committing! Great idea, Renee. You’re always so inspiring!

Trackbacks

  1. Powerful Woman Monologues – Call for participants! « Belle Renee
  2. Independent Happiness « Teacher Girl Blogs
  3. Feminism: Risha’s words, worth the read
  4. Powerful Woman Monologue – my story

Leave a Reply

