Skip to content

green grass on both sides

November 23, 2011

When holiday plans change at the last minute, it can be a bit of a bummer.  But this year, I’m thankful that the grass is green on both sides.

We had planned to spend the Thanksgiving holiday in Minnesota with family, but the vet called with not-so-great news. We had taken Gus yesterday after he had refused to use his litterbox for several days. The vet ran some tests and called tonight with the results. They think he may have bladder stones, so we have to monitor him for the weekend.

I had planned to take fruit and yogurt salad to Thanksgiving tomorrow so all we had to eat in our fridge as of this afternoon was a boatload of sliced fruit and big containers of yogurt. So I braved the crowds tonight to get us an appropriate Thanksgiving dinner. Instead I came home with salmon and mimosa ingredients. I’ll call that a win.

Rather than being bummed about our plans that fell through, I’d rather count my blessings.

I’m thankful that we had lovely, relaxing plans with Joe’s family. I’m thankful his family is warm and welcoming.

I’m thankful that we have Gus-cat and I’m thankful we can stay home to take care of him. I’m thankful for his furry cuddles.

I’m thankful we have such a great vet so close and I’m thankful we can afford to keep Gus healthy.

I’m thankful for the quiet Thanksgiving dinner we’ll have, full of our favorite foods.

I’m thankful for my husband’s pie-making skills. I’m thankful he’s willing to attempt a Hoosier sugar cream pie at the last minute just for me.

Even though our plans with family didn’t work out, I’m thankful that we’re just as happy staying home.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2011 2:07 pm

    I’m glad you still had lots to be thankful for even though your plans changed. Last year my husband I and opted to spend Christmas home together, for no reason other than we just didn’t feel like traveling and wanted to spend time in our own home for the holiday. It was a quiet day, but perfect.

  2. November 29, 2011 6:19 pm

    Life has funny ways of putting things in perspective. How is your cat doing?

Leave a Reply

