Skip to content

A Barenaked Giveaway!

November 26, 2011

Now that Thanksgiving has come and gone, it’s officially Christmas season!  This morning, as I drank my coffee and ate leftover pie for breakfast, I put together a Christmas playlist on Spotify. The first thing I added was Barenaked for the Holidays by the Barenaked Ladies.  I know, BNL is so 2004 but it’s by far my favorite Christmas album.  How could you not love “Happy Birthday, Jesus” and “Elf’s Lament” featuring Michael Buble as an elf?

So in honor of the Christmas season, I’m giving away a copy of Barenaked for the Holidays!
Mostly, this is a ploy to bulk up my Christmas playlist.

To enter, you must leave a comment telling me your favorite holiday album. You can earn an extra entry by tweeting about this giveaway and leaving a comment with the URL.  Don’t forget to include a way to contact you!  The winner will be selected December 10.

 

I was not compensated for this and I’m giving away this CD out of the goodness of my heart, so bug off, FTC Grinches.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2011 12:45 pm

    Psh, whatever. I love BNL.

    My favorite holiday song right now is “Sounds Like Snow” by Lauren Zettler & Cameron Mizell. You can preview the album here: http://www.cameronmizell.com/discography/sounds-like-snow/

  2. November 26, 2011 1:03 pm

    I love BNL, period. The Christmas album is genius. Right now, I’m super stoked to have She & Him’s Christmas album — that’s my new favorite!

  3. November 26, 2011 5:12 pm

    Love your disclaimer. 😉

    My favorite holiday album… can I only pick one?! I’m going to go with a few, especially if your goal is to bump up your own holiday playlists. I love *NSYNC’s “Home for Christmas,” Hanson’s “Snowed In,” and Michael Buble’s “Christmas.”

  4. November 26, 2011 6:36 pm

    I admit, I’m a perennial sucker for Mannheim Steamroller, particularly their “Christmas in the Aire” album

  5. November 26, 2011 6:53 pm

    Nat King Cole Christmas.

    Nothing beats his smooth voice singing about Chestnuts roasting by an open fire. {*grin*}

  6. November 26, 2011 6:57 pm

    My favorite album is Jingle Cats. 🙂 It’s become sort of a tradition at my mom’s to play it and see how long we can tolerate it or until the pets notice.

  7. November 26, 2011 8:26 pm

    My favorite Christmas album is Sufjan Stevens’ Songs For Christmas. He has some great arrangements of old classics mixed in with quirky new songs. (and it’s the only Christmas album my hubby will listen to!)

  8. November 26, 2011 10:51 pm

    I absolutely cannot pick a single favorite album. I love Mariah Carey’s Merry Christmas.

    I love Rankin & Bass’s Christmas Classics. And the Vince Guraldi Trio’s Charlie Brown Christmas. I love most mixed albums that contain all of the “classics” from the mid-20th century. Also, everything Trans Siberian Orchestra.

    Last year, I felt stupidly in love withe the Glee christmas album.

  9. November 26, 2011 10:52 pm

    Also, I love BNL… I can’t believe I haven’t heard their Christmas album!!

    And, I tweeted. 🙂

  10. November 27, 2011 8:43 pm

    Um, my favorite holiday album is either Nsync or Amy Grant. BUT. It’s only for nostalgia’s sake. Not because I think they’re *good.* I DO love BNL, though! And so does Gabe. Which is adorable.

  11. November 28, 2011 2:48 pm

    I heart BNL!
    My favorite Christmas album is a tie though, between Bing Crosby’s White Christmas album and a hard to find John Denver christmas CD that I can’t remember the name of presently.

  12. Jes permalink
    November 28, 2011 9:14 pm

    Snowed In by Hanson. DUH. xoxo http://www.rhapsody.com/album/Alb.180588

  13. November 28, 2011 11:09 pm

    Aww, Renee, this makes me happy. Partly because 7th grade Erin LOVED BNL with her whole heard. And partly because 27-year-old Erin has yet to hear their Christmas album. (I know, right?!)

    Sufjan Stevens has a few Christmas albums, and they always make me smile. Lots of beautiful originals, as well as some classics. One of my personal fave songs of his is “Come On! Let’s Boogey to the Elf Dance!” Trust me, it’ll make you want to dance around. (http://asthmatickitty.com/songs-for-christmas)

  14. November 29, 2011 10:11 am

    Dude! I loved the CRAP out of BNL, but I haven’t listened to them in years, and didn’t even know they had a Christmas album.

    In other news, I’ve been working TIRELESSLY to perfect my Christmas playlist on Grooveshark, I am currently at 127 songs. Some of the She and Him Christmas songs are good – but I love a good Bing Crosby, Gene Autry, Burl Ives, and the original “You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch”. I like my Christmas songs to feel old and well-loved.

  15. November 29, 2011 6:14 pm

    A few of my best friend’s church friends made a CD called “Apollo & Friends Christmas” and it is just the most fun thing ever. It pretty much just sounds like happiness.

  16. November 30, 2011 12:29 am

    I love BNL! And christmas music. My favorite album? Hard to say (She & Him and Michael Buble are on repeat right now) but my favorite song will always be Mariah Carey’s All I Want for Christmas! Not even having it on constantly at my job can detract from that song.

Trackbacks

  1. In the holiday spirit (and a giveaway winner!) « Belle Renee

Leave a Reply

