Skip to content

A change in priorities

December 16, 2011

I left the 20sb Summit with a drive to Do! More! with this space I have. And for awhile, I did. I gave myself an editorial schedule and stuck to it for far longer than I could have predicted.  But when school started to get busy, I took a break.  In fact, I took several breaks.  I told myself I’d only write when the inspiration hit.  To my surprise, it wasn’t often.  And it wasn’t awesome writing, either.

The more my friends and family started to read this blog, the more I realized I wanted to share with them my successes and failures one-on-one.  In short, my blog began to feel impersonal.

And you know what else contributed to this? That damn new Google Reader. I could write endless tirades about the new Reader, but the bottom line is, I hate that I can’t share anymore and I hate Google+ so that’s not replacing it for me.  And since I hate Reader, I don’t use it, which means I don’t read other people’s blogs as much anymore, which means I’m not as inspired to write as I once was. So there, Google Reader, this post is all your fault. I feel better now.

Ultimately, my priorities have shifted.  Have I grown out of my little corner of the interwebz? Absolutely not. My blog continues to be my own space and I will continue to write when the mood strikes me.  But I recognize that the mood strikes me less and less, even when I have copious amounts of spare time. (Since my winter break started, I’ve been devouring my Netflix queue. It’s been GREAT.) And I’ve decided to be okay with that. I’ve fluctuated between wanting to be a “big time blogger” and wanting to delete the whole darn thing… but neither of those extremes are right for me. I just want to blog when I want about the things I want to share. These days, the things I want to share are epically nerdy (feminism, rhetoric, media, yay!), and so be it. That’s just a reflection of my interests these days.

So tell me, faithful readers, have your priorities shifted? I’ve been sensing this throughout the community I’ve come to love, have you sensed the same? What do you do to combat this, or do you even try? Should we?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2011 7:54 am

    I almost started a second blog at the beginning of the semester because I was required to blog twice a week for a class and the thought of having my professor read my current blog made my skin crawl. Ultimately, I did use my blog… and it changed it in certain ways. Every now and then I put up something that felt genuinely personal and it seemed like an act of defiance on my part to do so. A sense of, HA! TAKE THAT! but those moments were rare. Now that I no longer have to do it twice a week, I have been slacking on the whole thing because I’m trying to reclaim that sense of what it used to be for me, and in addition to just being psychotically busy because my semester isn’t over yet, I think I just need a bit of space from it to reconnect.

  2. December 17, 2011 7:55 am

    (By all of that rambled nonsense I meant, “Yes, I totally get what you’re saying. I’m right there with you.”)

  3. December 19, 2011 12:55 am

    My priorities have changed a lot since my mom passed, not in the blogging area, but in life. It’s been hard for me to deal with this shift being the type A, control freak, stubborn Taurus I am. I feel like I’m supposed to have a solid idea of where I want my life and especially my new business to go. But to tell you the truth, I’m not sure about either. I suppose I’m getting there. And in relation to you, I think trying to force anything isn’t a good idea. I think what you’re doing is a perfect solution…doing your thing until the inspiration strikes. 🙂

  4. December 19, 2011 10:07 am

    Yeah, I totally understand where you’re coming from. My blog used to have some great writing, and deep thoughts, etc. Now it is still personal, but since I started grad school almost 2 years ago, all I’ve written are snippets here and there. I have to force myself to write anything sometimes, but I have found that when I do write a bit more regularly, I do enjoy it. It is especially nice to look back through the years at what I have written. I hope you don’t delete the blog, because I’ve really enjoyed reading it. Even through the changes in content. Keep on writing. Your readers will be here through all the changes.

  5. January 5, 2012 2:16 am

    I feel you 100% on this… and I’m not sure what we need to do about it, or if we need to do anything. I’m like you – I like to wait for inspiration to hit me – but I’m realizing that when you’re working hard and living your life, inspiration to blog hits less and less. And I don’t necessarily want to DO anything because I’m enjoying my life. Sooooo yes, I feel you. Do I have a solution? Not in the least. But I think we can continue figuring this thing out together, encouraging one another and writing when we feel that flitting inspiration hit us.

Leave a Reply

