Skip to content

Weeknight Cooking in a Messy Kitchen meets Christmas Cookie Week: Pillowy Lemon Crinkle Cookies

December 19, 2011

Remember when I used to write cooking posts? Me too. I enjoyed those. So I decided to participate in Erin’s Christmas Cookie Week over at The Speckled Palate. Not only is Erin a dear friend, but TSP is one of my favorite cooking blogs, so do check it out.

Today I decided to try a recipe I found on Pinterest (of course). It looked easy enough–just four ingredients!

I ruined the first batch. I do not know why. My only guess is I baked that batch on the top rack and the rest on the bottom. So I guess, don’t bake these on the top rack? They came out flat and doughy and weird, not fluffy and round and pretty like they should be.  I get to eat the mistakes, though, so I’m not complaining. Mistakes are delicious.

This recipe has four ingredients: Lemon cake mix, eggs, whipped topping, and powdered sugar (not pictured, it sends its regrets).

1) To begin, whip your package of Cool Whip with two eggs.  Then add lemon cake mix to the batter. That’s it.

2) This is your dough. Refrigerate it for about half an hour. In the meantime, wrap gifts or change the laundry or watch another episode of Parks and Rec. (That’s all I’ve done this winter break: laundry, gifts, Parks and Rec.)

3) Drop small spoonfuls of your dough into powered sugar.

I used a plastic container with a lid so I could shake it up unmessily.

4) Plop your drops onto a greased cookie sheet. Attempt to get a non-blurry photo. Fail miserably.

5) Bake 10-12 minutes at 350 on the bottom rack. The original recipe calls for 9-11 minutes, but mine needed at least 12. Maybe my oven needs a nap or some vitamins.

6) And you’re done! I cheated and added more powdered sugar to the top. I have no secrets.

To review: Top rack = flat, doughy, weird cookies, shown below.

Bottom rack = fluffy, round, pretty cookies, shown below.

About Weeknight Cooking in a Messy Kitchen: I love cooking blogs and blogs that post recipes and fancy pictures of adorable clean kitchens and the cooks in darling little outfits. I love to cook, too. But I don’t have one of those kitchens. And I certainly don’t cook in my cute clothes. Also, I don’t own a nice camera. And if I did, I wouldn’t know how to use it. I have a real kitchen and a real home… one with clutter and yesterday’s dishes and crooked rugs. My cooking utensils are in an old Boy Scout popcorn tin for heaven’s sake. And I don’t regularly cook from scratch or follow a recipe. But I still wanted to do those fancy cooking blog posts with pictures and recipes. But dammit, I’m going to do it my way. See more of my recipes here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2011 3:36 pm

    Weeknight cooking in a messy kitchen. That is why I ❤ you. You get me.
    I do my cooking in sweatpants (and, typically sans a bra) while I watch the TV guide channel…for the programming. Whatever, I do what I want.

  2. December 19, 2011 3:37 pm

    You really need to bring this series back. (I need to bring mine back). Also, I must live in a closet because I had NO CLUE Erin had a cooking blog. And the AWESOME fudge I made this weekend is totally getting posted under her Christmas Cookies Week.

  3. December 19, 2011 11:00 pm

    I have always LOVED this feature, and I am so happy you participated! And I am definitely going to have to make these because they sound DELICIOUS!

  4. December 21, 2011 12:58 pm

    I LOVE your cooking posts.

  5. Mich Taylor permalink
    October 6, 2012 1:43 pm

    Your instructive post was a delight to read and I can’t wait to try the recipe!

Trackbacks

  1. TSP Christmas Cookie Week: Fig Pinwheels

Leave a Reply

