Skip to content

WKMC + Christmas Cookie Week: Classic Chocolate Chip!

December 20, 2011

Here we go again for another installation of Weeknight Cooking in a Messy Kitchen meets The Speckled Palate’s Christmas Cookie Week!  Today I’m making classic chocolate chip cookies, as featured in Food Network Magazine. God I love the Food Network (so much that I wrote a paper on Iron Chef this semester).

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 sticks of butter
  • 3/4 c dark brown sugar
  • 3/4 c granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 1/2 c flour (not pictured, because I like to forget key ingredients)
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 c chocolate chips (I use milk chocolate because I don’t like semi-sweet)
  • BONUS! fresh coffee in a Josh Groban mug

1) Beat your butter and sugars until fluffy. Get real excited and surprised that it’s working. Preheat your oven to 350.

2) Toss in your eggs and vanilla. Mmmm, vanilla. DON’T DRIP ANY.

3) In a separate bowl, whisk flour, baking soda, and salt. Or use a fork to stir things up if your whisk is too big for your bowl. This pic is way boring, Tai.

4) Throw those dry ingredients into your mixer and add your chocolate chips. Be prepared for a GIANT GLOB OF YUM to appear before your eyes.

5) Chill for 30 minutes. I love looking in people’s fridges, so if you’re nosy like me, you’re welcome. In case you ever come over: top shelf is beer, middle shelf is eggs and leftovers, bottom shelf is cookie dough if you’re lucky.

6) Roll into balls and bake 8-12 minutes at 350.

So, seriously, is there anything better than the smell of freshly baked chocolate chip cookies? NO. NO THERE IS NOT.

About Weeknight Cooking in a Messy Kitchen: I love cooking blogs and blogs that post recipes and fancy pictures of adorable clean kitchens and the cooks in darling little outfits. I love to cook, too. But I don’t have one of those kitchens. And I certainly don’t cook in my cute clothes. Also, I don’t own a nice camera. And if I did, I wouldn’t know how to use it. I have a real kitchen and a real home… one with clutter and yesterday’s dishes and crooked rugs. My cooking utensils are in an old Boy Scout popcorn tin for heaven’s sake. And I don’t regularly cook from scratch or follow a recipe. But I still wanted to do those fancy cooking blog posts with pictures and recipes. But dammit, I’m going to do it my way. See more of my recipes here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2011 3:14 pm

    Yum! Chocolate chip cookies are my favorite. I already baked three batches so far (I use the recipe off of the Nestle chocolate chip bag). My favorite part is definitely the giant glob of yum that sticks to the paddle. :]

  2. December 21, 2011 2:16 am

    I’m hoping this comes across as non-creepy as possible, but I just adore you. The end.

Trackbacks

  1. TSP Christmas Cookie Week: Pumpkin Drop Cookies, a la Martha

Leave a Reply

