Skip to content

Holiday Party Girls’ Night In

December 21, 2011


Thanks to Duncan Hines for sponsoring my writing. There’s no limit to the baking possibilities, so grab your favorite Duncan Hines mix and Comstock or Wilderness fruit fillings and Bake On! www.duncanhines.com.

To accompany all these fancy cookie recipes I’ve been posting (and, do not fear, I intend to post at least one more!), I figured I’d share last week’s Christmas party photos!

As you may know, my semester ended the first week of December, but three of my dear friends hadn’t planned to leave the area for awhile. So we decided to have a little holiday/birthday gathering (our friend Winnie turned 22!). I live quite a ways from our school, so no one ever visits me. But, because it is winter break, it was a perfect time for my friends to trek the 25 miles to see me! Winnie, Jessica, and I love to cook… but Jill has never had the desire to learn… so we took that opportunity to teach her. I must say, Jill made my mac and cheese recipe better than I usually do. I think she was successful!

Jessica is a vegetarian, so we made a list of veggie foods we like and then hit the grocery store. By 6:00pm, we had made sweet potato chili, corn bread, guacamole and chips, mac and cheese, stuffed mushrooms, and an amazing salad. And wine. A lot of wine. It was a bit of a bizarre combination, but it was delightful. (And grad student budget friendly.) I eat vegetarian quite a bit, so this wasn’t that big of a deal for me, but Winnie and Jill were impressed with how good everything was!

After dinner, we cleared the table to settle in with raucous game of Apples to Apples accompanied by cupcakes from a darling local bakery. The birthday girl, who added raspberries to her salad, appropriately decided on a raspberry filled cupcake. We added a yellow candle to match her sunny yellow dress (and disposition). Jill selected gingerbread, Jessica enjoyed chocolate peppermint, and I had pumpkin maple. At the end of the night, we curled up next to the Christmas tree to enjoy YouTube videos, photos from Winnie’s family in Nigeria, and made plans to do this more regularly.

I loved hosting girls night in my home. It sucks that I have to live so far from everyone, but we all discussed our schedules for next semester and, hopefully, we’ll have a chance to do this regularly.

Remember to check out Duncan Hines’ website www.duncanhines.com to find some great recipes for your holiday get-together! I was selected for this sponsorship by the Clever Girls Collective.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 21, 2011 3:31 pm

    So much funnn. I wish I had girlfriends friends nearby, haha.

    Also, my takeaway from this is that I would like to be eating cornbread and guac & chips. Right now.

Leave a Reply

