Skip to content

WCMK + Christmas Cookie Week: Cranberry Orange Cookies!

December 22, 2011

Today is my final (and most delicious) installation of Weeknight Cooking in a Messy Kitchen featuring The Speckled Palate’s Christmas Cookie Week. And today I’d like to share one of my favorite cookie recipes I’ve discovered in the last couple of years: cranberry orange cookies. Original recipe can be found here.

You’ll need:

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon grated orange zest
  • 2 tablespoons orange juice*
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups chopped cranberries
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional but I added them because I was low on cranberries)

*Here’s the deal. I bought an orange, thinking that would be plenty to make 2 tbs fresh orange juice. It wasn’t. Just buy orange juice and drink what you don’t use.

1) Preheat oven to 375. Cream butter and sugars together. Add in your eggs. Ignore the ugly hairstyle.

2) Attempt to juice THE LEAST JUICY ORANGE EVER. Throw that in your mixer with your zest. Also add flour, salt, and baking soda.

3) Add cranberries and walnuts, if you wish. Mmm, cranberries.

4) You can roll these cookies or just drop them with a spoon onto an ungreased cookie sheet. I like them rolled.

5) Bake 12-14 minutes. When cooled, you can drizzle with a glaze made from orange juice… but because I had the LEAST JUICY ORANGE OF ALL TIME, I forwent this step, but check the original recipe for details.

About Weeknight Cooking in a Messy Kitchen: I love cooking blogs and blogs that post recipes and fancy pictures of adorable clean kitchens and the cooks in darling little outfits. I love to cook, too. But I don’t have one of those kitchens. And I certainly don’t cook in my cute clothes. Also, I don’t own a nice camera. And if I did, I wouldn’t know how to use it. I have a real kitchen and a real home… one with clutter and yesterday’s dishes and crooked rugs. My cooking utensils are in an old Boy Scout popcorn tin for heaven’s sake. And I don’t regularly cook from scratch or follow a recipe. But I still wanted to do those fancy cooking blog posts with pictures and recipes. But dammit, I’m going to do it my way. See more of my recipes here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2011 8:42 am

    Renee, I am so loving your cookie posts!

  2. January 5, 2012 2:13 am

    Goodness, Renee. These sound SO GOOD.

    Thanks so much for participating and having a great time in Christmas Cookie Week! I appreciate it!

Trackbacks

  1. TSP Christmas Cookie Week: Potato Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

