Skip to content

Powerful Woman Monologues – Call for participants!

December 28, 2011

In November, I ran a call for participants in response to the film Miss Representation. I plan to beginning running your submissions in January. Though I do have a few that I’m so excited to share, I would love to have some more and thought maybe you’d like a reminder!  To jog your memory, here’s what I wrote in November:

There are no guidelines for this guest blogging series.  I encourage you to be as creative as you wish.  You may record a video blog, design a graphic image, write a poem or song, create a photo essay, or craft a personal testimony around this very broad topic.

Some questions to get you thinking:

How do I define power? How do I demonstrate female power? How do I or can I encourage and empower other women? What media messages piss me off and how can I counter them? What experience made me realize how much power I have? What experience undermined my power and how can I defy that and respond? When do I feel most empowered?

It’s time to reclaim our power as women.  Let’s start a movement together.

If you’re interested, please email me: thereneeborhood (at) gmail (dot) com. I encourage you not to wait to be inspired by others’ submissions but to write what’s on your mind and in your heart, without hearing others’ stories first. However, I will continue to publish any submissions in perpetuity so if you’re swamped now, don’t think you can’t participate! Anonymous submissions are fine, as well.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2011 3:29 pm

    This sounds like an interesting project, I think I will send an email.

  2. December 28, 2011 11:32 pm

    I am SO excited to start reading (and soon contributing to!) this! 🙂

  3. December 29, 2011 1:54 pm

    I still want to do this! Must find time…

Leave a Reply

