Skip to content

The Power of You – Powerful Woman Monologue #1

January 16, 2012

About the author: Heather writes at The Sunset Won’t, a blog all about learning, and sometimes relearning, life’s lessons. It’s about remembering that there are many things in life that can wait. The dishes will still be dirty tomorrow. That list will still be there in the morning. That call can be made later. Those things can wait, but the sunset won’t.

It amazes me in life how often it is the smallest words that have the most impact. Love. Hate. Why? Why not? It’s amazing the amount of influence those words hold.

One of the biggest little words is power. Five letters when separate mean so little, but when strung together mean so much. These small words can often be the hardest to define. Which is why I’m not going to try in this small space.

The media tells me I’m not pretty enough, skinny enough, smart enough. And I take that to heart. I think many women do. But we have a power that no one else has. We are strong. We are smart. The world wouldn’t exist without us. We all have power. It’s just up to you to find it.

Finding my own power is something I am struggle with. Figuring out who I am, and owning that can be a challenge in a world of negatives. So how do we find our power? It starts small. It starts with looking at yourself and figuring out who you are. Who is your authentic self? Then it’s holding on to the knowledge that you are exactly who you are supposed to be. That life is a journey, and it’s constantly changing. Just as you are constantly growing. Constantly moving towards that person you are supposed to be.

Self-awareness is powerful stuff. Because when you know who you are, no one else can take that away from you.

Now, if you are anything like me, even the tiniest bit, you would be sitting there reading a post that someone else wrote telling you that being yourself is powerful. And you would laugh. You would laugh and say, “that’s easy for you to say. But I don’t know who I am. I don’t feel powerful.” That’s okay! It’s okay to not know who you are, as long as you are willing to find out. As long as you TRY to find out.

There are many things I don’t know about myself. But here are some things I do know: I am a chocolate eating, coffee drinking, book reading, middle school teaching, Christ following, task perfecting, lesson learning, love seeking, sister, friend, daughter, mentor. I am all those things. But I am not only those things.

I am continually figuring out who I am. And that is powerful stuff. It doesn’t matter if you are a man or woman. African, Caucasian, Latino, Asian or anywhere in between. What matters is you. YOU. You matter. You have a purpose in life, even if you don’t know it yet. You, are powerful.

About the series: Powerful Woman Monologues are compiled in response to the media’s representation of women as inspired by the film Miss Representation. If you would like to participate, email me. Any kind of creative contribution is welcome from anyone.

Special thanks to Ashley of Little Leaf Photography & Design for graciously creating the badge for our series!


3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2012 2:30 pm

    I need to find my power. I think I lost it long ago.

  2. January 18, 2012 10:03 am

    This is an excellent post- especially for a day when I’m not feeling at my strongest; a day when I feel battered by the world. x

Trackbacks

  1. Powerful Woman Monologues: A Round Up « Belle Renee

Leave a Reply

