Skip to content

Resolution: Get Healthy

January 27, 2012

Like I wrote last week, I’ll be documenting how I’m applying five resolutions to end sexism and eradicate gender stereotypes, as set out by MissRepresentation.org.  The first resolution for 2012 is this:

Get healthy – It is not about dieting, it is about a lifestyle shift. We are taking a 360-degree view of all that we consume in 2012. Watching less reality TV and educating ourselves instead through documentaries and books will make us – and those around us – smarter and healthier. This year we are celebrating alternatives to tabloid media, expanding our educational efforts and giving our supporters new and exciting ways of staying involved.

I don’t watch much reality television to begin with, unless you count Storage Wars.  Instead, as inspired by Alex, I’m getting healthy by becoming more active.  Strong is the new skinny.

I’ve never been the type to work out or go running or play on a league team of some sort, but I’ve noticed the countless hours I spend studying, reading, and writing has taken on my body.  My joints ache, my muscles get sore, and I run out of breath climbing the stairs to my classes.  So instead of getting my hair done, I decided to put $60 towards a fitness pass at school.  This means I get to take unlimited fitness classes at my university’s rec center this semester.  I’ve been attending a class called Sculpt & Stretch, in which the super adorable instructor tells us things like, “You’re strong!” and “You’re doing great!”  On top of that, I’ve been making an effort to drink lots of water, keep up with my vitamins, and eat fresh foods.

It’s exactly what I need this semester.

How are you getting healthy in the new year? How do you define healthy?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jes permalink
    January 27, 2012 1:26 pm

    “You are in control!”

  2. January 27, 2012 4:17 pm

    I loved this video that I found yesterday that really exemplifies what you are talking about here: http://youtu.be/TbdAe1a542s.

    I think it is so important for us women to be healthy and strong and beautiful, and to shatter those gender stereotypes that would have us believe there is only one beautiful.

  3. January 28, 2012 11:27 pm

    I just started doing a prenatal yoga DVD so I am somewhat in shape when the baby comes, and therefore make it easier for myself to get back in shape post baby.

    Plus it helps with breathing during labor. Or something. Cause eff lamaze classes. I can teach myself how to breathe.

  4. January 29, 2012 4:40 pm

    I am adding more yoga to my life. I’m exercising not to get thin, but to have more energy and less stress/anxiousness! This year, we’re dumping most processed foods.

    I decided that this is the year I stop worrying about my weight, focus on keeping my clothes FITTING and to feel better in general. 🙂

  5. Heather B permalink
    January 30, 2012 10:42 am

    I have started running on an elliptical 3 days a week and calorie counting, also trying to eat healthier.

  6. February 3, 2012 8:38 pm

    Love this, Renee. So excited to see this series of posts, but mostly excited to see how you will be taking care of yourself and becoming an even stronger woman. Exercise and a healthy lifestyle have saved me. I stopped taking antidepressants, my mood is elevated, my sleep is better – all of which make a BIG difference in grad school. ❤

Leave a Reply

