Skip to content

Resolution: Value Myself

February 2, 2012

Like I wrote before, I’ll be documenting how I’m applying five resolutions to end sexism and eradicate gender stereotypes, as set out by MissRepresentation.org.  The second resolution for 2012 is this:

Value ourselves – This can be hard in a society that seems to only value the superficial, but celebrating our true selves and our accomplishments, while taking moments to recognize our worth, is essential for us to reach our full potential.

A meditation:

My grades do not represent my worth. My weight does not represent my worth. The cleanliness of my home does not represent my worth. The length of my hair does not represent my worth.  The length of my CV does not represent my worth.  The dollar amount I spend on groceries each week does not represent my worth.  My Ph.D. acceptances and rejections do not represent my worth.

No.

I value my capacity to love.
I value my ability to think critically.
I value time spent with my family.
I value drinks with friends, desserts with my husband, and afternoon naptime with my cat.
I value the strength of my body to carry my through each day with relatively little trouble.
I value the strength of my soul to overcome obstacles.
I value the experiences I’ve had that have brought me here.

I am worthy of all the good that my life has bestowed on me. And I never forget how fortunate I am.

What are you doing to value yourself? How do you define self-worth?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jes permalink
    February 2, 2012 2:39 pm

    Can I just steal yours?

  2. February 4, 2012 12:16 pm

    I love this one. I fight myself every single day….and I think I need to fight harder.

  3. February 4, 2012 3:03 pm

    Looking at the full list, this is definitely the one that seems like the biggest challenge, and yet, it’s hard to see how you can do the others to their full potential without reaching this one. Fantastic post, as always ❤

  4. February 4, 2012 5:48 pm

    Thanks for being a feminist voice out here in the blogosphere! It’s so nice to find, and your message is so important. It’s amazing how engrained it is that we as women define and value ourselves through external means, and it’s also so hard to overcome! But this is definitely a good goal to always remember and strive for.

  5. Leah permalink
    February 8, 2012 12:52 pm

    I need to make this list for myself. What I am currently defining as my self worth is so abysmally shallow and un-feminist that if I wrote it here you would march up to me in Toronto to smack the silliness out of my brain. Gah. Thank you for writing this and thank me for reading this.

Leave a Reply

