Skip to content

Resolution: Get Involved

February 16, 2012

Like I wrote before, I’ll be documenting how I’m applying five resolutions to end sexism and eradicate gender stereotypes, as set out by MissRepresentation.org.  The fourth resolution for 2012 is this:

Get involved – Whether it is volunteering at a beach cleanup or chairing the local school board, by becoming active in our local communities we are taking ownership of the change we want to see. Change requires action so at MissRepresentation.org we will continue to encourage real world organizing and activity in 2012.

You’re looking at my involvement, blog world! There’s only so much I can do as a grad student in terms of organizing and involvement, but if even I can find a way to take ownership of change, so can you.  Here are some of the ways I’ve gotten involved just through the powers of the internet:

  • The Powerful Woman Monologues series is one of my favorite things I’ve ever done.  It allows writers to voice their opinions on a number of important topics.
  • I speak up whenever I see injustice. This includes calling out people on facebook and twitter, as well as crafting a response for blog communities like Stratejoy.
  • Instead of watching Chris Brown perform on the Grammy’s, I turned off the TV and tweeted domestic violence statistics.
  • In my school work, I focus as much as possible on women’s issues and queer issues.  This spring, I will presenting at two conferences. One presentation will focus on Prop 8 The Musical and its relation to online democracy. The other is a part of a panel that focuses on how gender is disciplined in the media.

It’s not much, but it feels like I’m making a difference.

If you would like to get involved, consider writing a powerful woman monologue… no need to identify as a woman to contribute!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2012 6:31 pm

    I think you are doing a great job! You should be proud!! 😉

  2. Heather B permalink
    February 17, 2012 1:50 pm

    You are making a difference. You should be really proud of yourself.

  3. February 18, 2012 1:04 pm

    Aww, that’s a great resolution to be following up on!

Leave a Reply

