Skip to content

Resolution: Be a Leader

March 1, 2012

Like I wrote before, I am documenting how I’m applying five resolutions to end sexism and eradicate gender stereotypes, as set out by MissRepresentation.org.  The final resolution for 2012 is this:

Be a leader – We are taking on stronger leadership roles in our own communities, cities and states. Only 18% of America’s top leaders are women. This is the year we significantly change that number. In 2012 we encourage everyone to step into new leadership roles and to support women in leadership wherever they can.

Being a leader is easy when you’re drawn to leadership as I am. I feel most comfortable when I am presiding over a group or situation. (I mean this to a fault. Every fitness class I attend, my internal monologue goes something like this: I could totally be a fitness instructor. That would be fun. I should look into getting certified. No, Renee, you don’t need to be in charge of everything. Just enjoy your class quietly and go home to do your actual work.)

I think this resolution is necessary for many woman in all walks of life. But I also want to add a caveat: We shouldn’t feel like we always have to lead.  Yes, we need more women in government and in leadership positions in business. I absolutely agree that this should be of utmost importance.However, those of us who are leaders can’t lead everything.

So if you’re afraid to lead, find a mentor who will help you overcome your fear, and then seek leadership opportunities.  We could use a break. 🙂

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 1, 2012 6:31 pm

    I totally agree! It is so important for us to know when to lead and when to follow, and to seek out leadership opportunities in the areas where we are strongest. Great ideas!

Leave a Reply

