Skip to content

From stress-induced sore throats to patio beers

May 9, 2012

I woke up on Monday with a sore throat.  I willed it away. Please, no, I have too much to do this week. I have to take an exam and clean my entire house and tear up the entire garden and plan my graduation party.  I can’t can’t can’t be sick.

It worked.

On Monday, I turned in my final paper and took the final final exam of my M.A. career.  That night, in a tizzy, I made a list of all the treats I wanted to bake for my graduation party.  I made an enormous grocery list, complete with all the meals I’ll make this week, for Joe & me, as well as for our families coming to town, as well as all of the baking supplies I was going to need to throw myself a graduation party.  I made a long cleaning list that included, for the first time, things like “clean cobwebs from windows” and “vacuum basement.”  And at 3:30am, I finally went to bed.

I awoke Tuesday morning around 8:00.  And my sore throat was gone.  It was stress-induced.  Somehow, just the baby step of making lists (and playing Bejeweled til nearly 4am) was enough to cure what ailed me.  Recharged, revitalized, and rejuvenated, I took on the tasks for the day.  I fiercely defeated the overgrown landscaping.  I powerfully pushed the heaviest shopping cart around the grocery store.  I made dinner like a boss.

Tomorrow, my mom and in-laws come to town, on Friday I graduate, and on Saturday I’m hosting my dearest friends for a casual celebration. I could not be more excited.

My to-do list for the rest of the week is fun.  Have patio beers with friends.  Make chocolate bundt cake and trifle.  Grill hamburgers with family. Walk the stage at Commencement. Pack for vacation. Read books.

{via}

Hello, summer. It’s nice to see you again.

 

 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2012 4:56 pm

    Congratulations times a million!!! I can’t believe I’ve been following your blog for nearly ever since I started blogging, one day when you’re a famous professor commenting on gender issues on CNN or MSNBC next to Rachel Maddow or Anderson Cooper, I’m going to be like I’VE BEEN READING HER BLOG FOR FOREVER. ❤ 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. May 9, 2012 5:42 pm

    eeeee! you’re almost a graduate! a super graduate! hope you enjoy your week oh so much and enjoy all those patio beers and family and friends time because you most definitely deserve it!

  3. May 9, 2012 6:01 pm

    I WANT TO THROW YOU A BIG, GIANT PARTY! YAY! This is huge, and I’m so excited for you! I hope you get to relax /like a boss/ the way you made dinner like a boss 🙂

  4. May 9, 2012 6:16 pm

    Again, CONGRATULATIONS. You can now add, “Crushes illness through sheer force of will,” to your list of skills. Pretty epic stuff.

  5. May 10, 2012 8:52 am

    I love it when patio beers become a priority 🙂 Congratulations!!

  6. May 10, 2012 10:30 am

    This week is worth celebrating. Hope it’s wonderful for you!

  7. May 11, 2012 10:42 am

    Aughhh congratulations! I hope you have a fabulous, restful, exciting week!!

  8. May 11, 2012 1:02 pm

    That has to be the best to-do list of ever. Enjoy every bit of it my dear.

  9. May 12, 2012 3:22 pm

    Congrats on your graduation!! 😀

    PS: I often play Bejeweled when I’m feeling like an insomniac… 🙂

Leave a Reply

