Skip to content

One sweet graduation party

May 16, 2012

My mom and in-laws came to town last weekend for Commencement, and though it was absolutely wonderful to see them, it was admittedly exhausting.  Because, on top of finishing my finals and graduating, I also decided to deep clean in order to throw myself a fancy graduation party… and I don’t mess around when I throw parties.

It was a dessert theme, because I love an excuse to make a ton of sweets.  And, lucky for you, I’ve saved the recipes to share!

In the front, we have a cappuccino mousse trifle, followed by chocolate cake truffles, and a fruit platter covered in foil in this pic.  Full disclosure: the cake truffles started as a bundt cake that fell apart, so my mom and I threw the broken pieces into the mixer with the leftover frosting, formed them into balls, and then dipped them in white chocolate, dark chocolate, and powdered sugar.

Up front, we have Joe’s homemade rhubarb pie, recipe from Joy of Cooking. Behind that are lemon blueberry cheesecake bars (a HUGE hit!) and some gorgeous flowers from Trader Joe’s.  Not pictured: Sarasota lemonade

In the other room…

Lacey’s mint chocolate fudge, more cake truffles, Joe’s leftover pie crust cut into sticks and sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar, and brownie batter dip with graham crackers and pretzels

 

It was a nice party and super delicious.  I’m blessed to have such good friends and family supporting me.  I’m also blessed to have a few days of me-time to recover. 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2012 1:13 pm

    You’re making my mouth water – there’s something for everyone!

  2. May 16, 2012 1:46 pm

    Wow these all sound amazing!

  3. May 16, 2012 5:58 pm

    goodness that all looks so tasty! i may have to try that brownie dip for my next party!

  4. May 16, 2012 9:28 pm

    Oh dear sweet Lord, that trifle. It looks amazing.

Leave a Reply

