Skip to content

In the market for appropriately nerdy glasses

May 19, 2012

I’m heading out on vacation, but on the day I get home, I’ve written: “make eye appointment.” As you may remember, I got new sunglasses last summer and new everyday eyeglasses the summer before.

New glasses in 2010
New sunglasses in 2011

Now I want funky-town glasses…. Something fun, something quirky, something with tons of personality… just a pair of cheap glasses that reflects the inner nerd I am. That’s where GlassesUSA.com comes in.

I plan to get my eye appointment to make sure my eyeglasses prescription is up-to-date, but then I’m headed to the web for a good deal. Lucky for us, GlassesUSA is providing a 50% discount with the code SPRING50FS, but even more exciting is the Virtual Mirror feature where I can try on whatever pair I want to make sure I look appropriately nerdy.

I wear my glasses everyday, but I’m no longer in love with the ones I have. They’re perfect for professional events–presenting at conferences, interviewing, leading discussions—but if I want to truly feel like a grad student, I need glasses that are appropriate for kicking it in the library or meeting with students. I need glasses that scream, “I may be a geek, but I still got style, yo.”

What do you think?



This post is sponsored by GlassesUSA.com and I was compensated for writing it. Thanks for getting in touch, GlassesUSA. I truly dig the Virtual Mirror feature.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2012 10:52 am

    I think I will try to order from them next time I need glasses. I ordered from Zenni I few months ago and while I liked that I could get 4 pairs for under $60 the website was very slow loading and the lens of one of the pairs was very loose (slightly undercut I think) they wanted me to pay for return shipping to them and to ship the replacement back to me (costing double the price of the glasses) and it was just such a hassle that I didn’t even bother,

  2. May 21, 2012 3:57 pm

    Seems like a pretty cool feature. I really hate trying on a million frames at the doctors office. I always just end up lazy and tired and picking the first thing I like…

  3. May 25, 2012 5:50 pm

    That looks awesome! I’m with Lorraine — it’s so awkward having to try them on there, especially because the girls who work at my eye doctor all have very different taste than mine. When I bought my glasses two years ago, I got a lot of side-eying about how these weren’t sunglasses. BUT NOW I’M IN PARIS AND ALL THE KIDS IN PARIS HAVE THESE GLASSES TOO, SO CALM DOWN WITH YOUR JUDGEMENT FACES, LADIES.

  4. May 25, 2012 5:50 pm

    I always forget that these things delete my fake HTML. That comment was supposed to end with sans asterisk. No appreciation for my nerd humor, WordPress.

  5. May 25, 2012 5:51 pm

    a;slkfj;lasjf;lsd

Leave a Reply

