Skip to content

Vacation recap

May 30, 2012

The thing about going to a private college is that your friends are from all over the country, and then they get married in their hometowns. This has given us the opportunity to travel to all sorts of places we probably wouldn’t have gone otherwise: Charlotte, NC; St. Louis, MO; Detroit, MI; and most recently, Chattanooga, TN.

We took the opportunity of a wedding in Chattanooga to explore parts of the country we’ve never seen.

We stopped at the Jack Daniels distillery in Lynchburg. (I don’t want to know how that town got its name.) (Also, it’s a dry county so they can’t sell alcohol. GO FIGURE.)

We enjoyed a nice surprise when we realized the rehearsal dinner was at Rock City. (Our nice pictures always seem to be thwarted by mad storm clouds.)

I took a solo trip to the Tennessee Aquarium while Joe did wedding party stuff. I discovered that I’m a Seahorse Whisperer. These creatures love me.

We dined and danced at the lovely wedding in a lovely art museum. (This photo looks like Joe has had too many, when in actuality, I’m the one with a few too many margaritas in me.)

After the wedding, we visited Joe’s sister who has an Americorps position in rural Kentucky.  She literally lives on the side of a mountain where she teaches the Appalachian folk how to maintain their own gardens. It was a wonderful little retreat, and after the dancing and the adult beverages at the wedding, I was thrilled to sit on the porch with a cup of coffee and Mindy Kaling’s book.

[Note: I was too relaxed to take any photos.]

After a few days of fresh mountain air and my sister-in-law’s amazing cooking, Joe and I stopped at Mammoth Cave on our way to Nashville. We took busted our butts to make it in time for our cave tour… only to realize we’d been in Eastern time and the tour schedule operates on Central time. So we had lunch and wandered the gift shop, duh.

The tour was incredible.

And then we wined and dined and walked and browsed our way through Nashville. We used AirBnB for the first time, and between our hosts and Miss Erin, we got some killer recommendations for food and things to do. Lesson learned: Always ask Erin for rec’s when traveling to the South!

Despite the long, relaxing vacation, it’s so nice to be home for a few days. I missed my bed, my kitchen, and my cat.

Until next summer’s weddings!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2012 1:14 pm

    That yellow dress is FLAWLESS on you my dear! Glad you had a good trip!

    • May 30, 2012 1:17 pm

      Ah! Thank you! I’m OBSESSED with it. I splashed lip stain on it a couple weeks ago and IT CAME OUT. Clearly, it’s a miracle dress.

    • May 30, 2012 4:11 pm

      What Jenn said. Seriously.

  2. May 31, 2012 8:24 am

    That second picture is incredible. I want me some time on a side of mountain now. 🙂

  3. June 2, 2012 6:54 am

    The picture where you’re dancing at the wedding, you totally have Disney Princess Hair.

  4. June 4, 2012 1:32 am

    What a gorgeous dress! Eric has been itching for an Appalachia road trip…maybe I’ll give in one of these days!

Leave a Reply

