Skip to content

The Great Apartment Search of 2012

June 4, 2012

Here it is, Universe. Here is the list of our apartment requirements. I’m throwing it out to you because Craigslist isn’t being helpful. Our lease is up July 31, and I’d like to have something lined up before I go off to camp on July 7.

Minimum Requirements

1. Location: Within a 20 min walk of the Oak Park Metra Station. Quiet building, ideally no more than 4 units. Gus doesn’t deal with neighbors well.

2. Cat friendly. Duh.

3. Price: Less than $1200, preferably less than $1100. We would really like to be as cheap as possible, let’s be honest. And throw in the utilities, too, please.

4. Appliances: Must have dishwasher; laundry in building. These hands don’t do dishes and these feet don’t walk to laundromats.

5. Size: Two bedrooms, but we will settle for one large bedroom. We both have our own dressers that we’d like to fit in the bedroom.

6. Outdoor space: Porch or balcony connected to unit. We need some place to grill!

7. Parking: At least one spot included, garage not necessary but preferred. I mean, there’s nothing I hate more than scraping my windshield when it’s 20 below. Unless it’s walking six blocks to get to my car and then having to scrap my windshield.

And, Universe, if you’re really listening, these are our future apartment’s ideal qualities.

  • Duplex/two flat, with two levels in unit. I love having an upstairs and a downstairs.
  • Hardwood floors, high ceilings, open floor plan, exposed brick, vintage. Think industrial. Think tons of character.
  • Garage. Please?
  • Located 20 min walk south of Metra/Green Line. That way Joe can commute via Metra and I can commute via the Blue Line.
  • Storage area or lots of closet space. I don’t want to put my sweaters in a storage unit if I don’t have to.

 

And if the kitchen could look like this, I wouldn’t even need a bedroom.

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2012 2:08 pm

    One of my friends had a 2 bedroom place on Madison/Harlem in Forest Park. It’s on top of an antique shop but next to a bar. Porch & parking. Don’t remember if there was a dishwasher. I assumed there was laundry downstairs.

  2. June 5, 2012 5:10 am

    Your dream apt sounds wonderful. I am hoping you guys find something soon!! =)

  3. June 9, 2012 2:11 pm

    Have you tried those apartment finding companies? I’ve used Apartment People for my last couple places and have had the best success with them. I could see 30 places over the course of 2 days. And my agent got to know me so he’d know what I’d like before we get there–the second time was even easier.

    Fingers crossed you find a place!

    • June 14, 2012 9:18 am

      I’m going to meet with one today! I’ve heard good things about the Oak Park Regional Housing Center.

  4. June 11, 2012 4:40 am

    Cannot live without a dishwasher….

  5. June 11, 2012 2:28 pm

    Can I come visit you once you find this amazing apartment? Because it pretty much fits everything I could ever want in a dwelling, location included 🙂

  6. June 14, 2012 11:52 am

    Good luck Renee! That kitchen is to die for…

Trackbacks

  1. Revisiting Our List « Belle Renee

Leave a Reply

