Skip to content

Menu Monday – June 18

June 18, 2012

Lacey regularly posts Menu Mondays on her blog and I thought I’d play along. For the last few years, I’ve been meal planning regularly and I saw my grocery bills plummet and my stress in the evenings nosedive along with it.

I’m at camp this week, where we bring sack lunches and don’t have access to a microwave. Because I’m not a huge fan of deli meat and peanut butter gets tiresome, so I tend to avoid sandwiches. Instead, I’ve compiled a collection of big salads that make lots of leftovers. These aren’t regular salads in the lettuce+meat+dressing sense. These are more like lighter versions of your mom’s potato salad kinds of salads.  Here are some of the recipes I’ll be making this week:

 

Lemon Asparagus Orzo salad – This is one of my favorite pasta salads. It’s fast, fresh, and light. It would be great with some feta thrown in, too. Meijer was out of orzo when I went, so I got ditalini, but any kind of super small pasta would work.

Avocado Spinach Egg salad – Um, stop it. Avocado is my favorite food, so I’m just all sorts of excited for this. I bought some delicious crusty bread in anticipation.

Mostly Not Potato Salad – I made this yesterday so I would have some to take for lunch today, and it is SO good. I subbed spicy brown mustard and threw in a couple of extra potatoes and green beans, but it turned out fabulous… especially as it was my first foray into leeks! Protip: If you don’t like tofu, just leave it out. If you’re a meatatarian, this would be killer with some crumbled bacon.

Chickpea salad – I’m always looking for recipes with chickpeas, and this one uses two of the herbs I had to buy for other recipes, so win win!

Orange Chicken with Bulgar Pilaf – I made tabbouleh once and ended up with a ton of bulgar leftover, so whenever I see a recipe that involves bulgar, I take note. We’ll see how this turns out. I haven’t tried it before.

Caprese pasta salad – From my imagination. I’m going to toss some cold rigatoni, mozzarella ciliegine, cherry tomatoes, minced garlic, and chopped basil in olive oil and balsamic vinegar and call it a day. If I have any red onion leftover, that can go in, too.

 

What’s on your menu this week? Any easy salad recipes you’d like to share?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    June 18, 2012 8:51 pm

    I just added these to my recipe box in Evernote. YUM.
    This week, I’ve got KylaRoma’s whole wheat pancakes lined up, to be piled high with strawberries, bananas, greek yogurt, and just a little bit of real maple syrup.

    • June 18, 2012 8:54 pm

      Kyla’s pancake parfaits are DEFINITELY on my radar, and I’m thinking they’ll have to be made this weekend. 🙂

  2. June 18, 2012 9:35 pm

    Yum!! We have a LOT of leftovers from a BBQ so we’re not cooking much, but one thing we’re making is a Charred BLT Salad. Yum!

  3. June 19, 2012 7:04 am

    This is my new favorite.
    http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Pepperoni-Pasta-Salad

    And to date, the only pasta salad I’ve ever liked.

  4. June 19, 2012 8:08 am

    The Caprese pasta salad sounds amazing. With tomatoes showing up in the markets and our new basil plant, I’m all about caprese anything. YUM.

    • June 20, 2012 7:45 am

      I DEFINITELY need to start growing basil. I love it in just about anything but it gets expensive (and wasteful) buying it every week or so.

Leave a Reply

