Skip to content

Camp #1: Mission Complete

June 29, 2012

I love summer jobs. I’ve had a lot of them.  I’ve interned for Members of Congress, I’ve scooped frozen custard, I’ve been a camp counselor… you get the picture.  There’s something addicting about spending your summer working your tail off.  Vacation?  Sure, but not for too long.

This summer I’m an instructor for a couple of camps.  The first camp is a video game development camp for girls and the second is a fine arts camp for girls.  My first camp wrapped up this week and it was… well, I could probably describe it in about 3000 different ways.

At times it was …

…frustrating. How many times do I have to ask these girls to listen? Nothing is more irritating than campers constantly asking for help because they weren’t following along with the instructor.

…confusing. I was unfamiliar with a lot of the material. It was difficult helping the girls when I wasn’t sure what was going on myself.

…exhausting. I was not myself the last few days of camp. I was sleep-deprived, irritable, and burning the candle at both ends. But I knew it was only two weeks, and fancy tacos and margaritas were to greet me at the end of those two weeks. (Worth it.)

…a learning experience. I learned far more technical skills than I thought I would. The camp is just really cool.  What an amazing experience for these girls.

…hilarious.  Especially in the second week, when they were building their own 3D virtual worlds.  These girls are hilarious.  I mean, of course they should put a pirate ship in the sky.  And of course evil mustached cats should sit on thrones in the great hall.  And of course you should include a Triforce in your castle and photos from Skyrim in your tavern.

…rewarding. These girls are so incredibly bright, curious, focused, driven, funny, and wonderful. I’m very grateful I got the opportunity to spend the last two weeks with them. They’re just so cool and creative and meant for great things.

After next weekend’s wedding, I’ll be heading back to my hometown for the fine arts camp where I’ll be teaching creative writing. More on that soon!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2012 12:34 am

    Where was that camp when I was a little girl?! It sounds amazing!

    • June 30, 2012 7:56 am

      Right?! It was the first year for the girls-only version of this camp, but there’s been a coed one for a few years.

  2. June 30, 2012 2:21 pm

    This camp sounded so fun and I’m glad that while it was frustrating and exhausting, you and the girls had a good time. I’m really excited that you’re teaching creative writing next. It’s my favorite subject ever.

  3. July 6, 2012 10:07 pm

    I absolutely loved working at camps for the same reasons as you listed here, even though it is tough work. Glad that you’ve enjoyed some laughter and have felt the rewards of leading those girls! I hope your summer continues to be awesome, with more laughter and less confusion/frustration.

Leave a Reply

