Skip to content

Help me plan my lessons?

July 2, 2012

I’m teaching creative writing at my next camp, and I could use your brains for some brainstorming. I have two different class projects, one is creative journaling and one is creating a comic book… with a twist.

For the journaling project, they will decorate their own notebooks with magazine clippings. Each day I will have two prompts they can choose from.  Some prompts I’ve come up with:

  • How would I spend my perfect day? Who would be there? Where would we go? What would we do, see, eat?
  • What makes a good friend? What qualities do I look for in new friends? Who is my best friend at school and at camp? How am I a good friend? How could I be a better friend?
  • What is success? What does it mean to be successful? Who do I think is the most successful person in the world? Who is the most successful person that I know? How do I want to be successful?

I also want to share others’ journals with them. Can anyone provide quotes from journals or memoirs by girls or women? The only one that comes to mind is Anne Frank, so I might be sharing some of my friends’ blogs if I can’t come up with anything else. 🙂 Also, if you have journal prompt suggestions, send them my way!

For the second class, campers will work in groups to create a comic book. They can choose all of the details–setting, characters, style, plot, etc.–however, they’ll have to address my Curve Balls.  I need your help coming up with more twists to the story that they will pull out of a hat.  Examples I have so far:

  • Rewrite your last sentence
  • Address an earthquake
  • Make one of your characters disappear
  • Ask the team next to you to come up with your next line of dialogue
  • Add a koala to the story
  • Reveal one of your characters as a vampire

The campers are 9-14 year old girls. Thanks in advance for your help, everyone. I’m so excited for this camp and can’t wait to get to know my next set of girls!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2012 3:55 pm

    I’ll have to give it some thought to see if I can help you, but I just wanted to let you know that these sound great so far and that the camp in general seems like it would be so much from to conduct! Here’s hoping you get a great group of girls.

  2. July 6, 2012 8:49 pm

    LOVE.

    My personal hero, outside of my grandmother, is Tori Amos. She wrote a memoir years ago, but her songs are really personal. In her book Piece by Piece (a song lyric), she talks a lot about how women are so cruel to one another because we strive so hard to be accepted and loved by everyone, especially men. She says in her memoirs, “What girls do to each other is beyond description. No Chinese torture comes close.” In the song Girl, she says, “She’s been everybody else’s girl, maybe one day she’ll be her own.”

    Also, my grandmother and great grandmother journaled throughout their entire lives. My grandmother read a book called, “What you think of me is none of my business.” This is a lesson she tried to instill in me for years.

    I’m still learning… but I think these are things girls should hear as early and as often as possible.

Leave a Reply

