Skip to content

Life Lessons from Week 1

July 15, 2012

Now that the first week of camp #2 is over, I feel a bit more in control of my life and my time. The first week was busy busy, as this is an overnight camp. Plus, instructors have to chaperone off-campus events once in the three week period, so of course last week was my week. So! Many! Campers!

But here are five of the things I have learned in my first week teaching creative writing at fine arts camp. And, really, some of these are life lessons for all of us:

  1. Pooping on the bathroom floor happens more often than I’d like to think about. I mean. Really. Poop. On the floor. Twice.
  2. Boy bands are definitely a thing. And I don’t think they’re going away. One Direction is all I’ve been hearing, and apparently there’s something called Big Time Rush. And it’s a thing, too.
  3. Sometimes all you need is a dance break to Call Me Maybe to turn a frown upside down.
  4. Not-so-unfair generalizations: All tweens are named Grace, Rose, or Katie. All tweens were born in this millennium. All tweens love neon.
  5. Peeta sounds like “Pita,” which is funny, because he’s a baker. *mind blown*

Want more camp stories? Check out the “Overheard at Camp” series I wrote when I was a counselor at this camp in 2008! Welcome | Week 1a | Week 1b | Week 2 | Week 3

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2012 8:25 am

    Ha this is awesome! Also, I feel really old just reading this.

  2. July 16, 2012 12:03 pm

    POOP on the floor is a thing?? Because tweens are not potty trained, perhaps? 🙂

  3. July 17, 2012 1:25 pm

    I just found out what One Direction was!! A boy band of all things. I guess every generation needs some.

    Also, LOL Peeta.

Leave a Reply

