Skip to content

Catching up on camp stories

August 10, 2012

I took notes throughout the day when I was teaching at summer camp, which ended two weeks ago. We moved the day after I got home from camp, so I’ve understandably been incredibly busy! So here are snippets from Week 2 and Week 3 as well as some of the comic books the campers made in my class!

Lessons I learned

  • Kids are really concerned with rules. I provide comic book templates for them and let them know that, on average, they’ll be able to finish 8 in the time allotted, so start with 8. Inevitably, I get a ton of questions: “What happens if we need more than 8?” “If we’re working in a group, can we use more?” “What if I don’t need 8?” “Do we have to put dialogue in every frame?” It’s as though they’ve never been allowed to experience autonomous creativity. In fact, it’s a bit sad.
  • Sometimes you have to stop whatever instructions you’re giving to politely ask for the sound effects to stop.
  • No one knows the song Lady Marmalade. Not even the counselors. I give up.

Questions I was asked

  • “Do parrots sleep upright?”
  • “Are the names of ships underlined?”
  • “How do you make a capital F in cursive?”
  • “Do polar bears eat penguins?”
  • “Does Antarctica have the sun?”
  • “You know how a knock knock joke goes, ‘Knock knock, who’s there? Door. Door who?’ Can I write one where she just goes straight to the punchline? Like, ‘knock knock, who’s there? PUNCHLINE.”
  • “Can my main character get advice through the mail from a fairy?”
  • “How many pints of blood does a person have?”
  • “Is it possible to eat a giant bunny?”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2012 12:01 pm

    No one knows Lady Marmalade anymore?! That song is a part of my favorite memory from high school soccer camp! The senior guys team borrowed our clothes and performed it during the lip sync contest. They won… obviously.

  2. August 11, 2012 10:25 am

    Is it possible to eat a giant bunny. Brilliant.

  3. August 13, 2012 9:31 am

    I just love those illustrations.

Leave a Reply

