Skip to content

Pinterest Party & Weeknight Cooking in a Messy Kitchen: Lemon Orzo with Asparagus and Tomatoes

August 16, 2012

Keeping in line with the recipe theme this week, here is my submission to 20sb’s Pinterest Party! 20sb has challenged its members to actually do one of the things they’ve seen on Pinterest, be it a DIY project, recipe, or inspiration of some sort. Today I’m bringing back a favorite series, Weeknight Cooking in a Messy Kitchen, to share one of my favorite recipes, Lemon Orzo Salad with Asparagus and Tomatoes.

I’ve made this a few times before since first pinning it, but here’s the documentation. Orzo is one of my favorite pasta shapes. It’s just so… cute. And a bit manipulative, since it sort of looks like rice, but it’s not. And, yes, I know, asparagus is no longer in season, but I love it even when it’s sorta brown and woody (that’s what she said) so I still buy it. And every time I make this I realize I reallllly need to invest in a citrus juicer thingy, but I’m holding out for a turquoise one. In the meantime, I’ll just let that lemon juice get into my hangnails and paper cuts.

Step 1: Cut your asparagus into bite-sized pieces and blanch it. Basically, that means boil it until it’s bright green. Then real chefs throw it into a bowl of ice water to keep it from cooking more, but I just drain it and set it aside because I don’t want to wash an extra bowl.

Step 2: Mince your garlic and cut up your grape tomatoes. There’s this tip on Pinterest that uses a yogurt lid to slice a bunch of little tomatoes at once but I was too lazy to try that so I can’t speak for how well it works.

Step 3: Make your dressing of olive oil, lemon zest, lemon juice, garlic, salt, and pepper. And please tell me if there’s anything better than that combo because I’ll tell you you’re dead wrong.

Step 4: Throw it all together and then throw some parmesan cheese into that shit because YUM.

I love this recipe because it makes like 6 months of leftovers, except not because we gorge ourselves on it for like two days straight for every meal.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2012 2:54 pm

    That whole lemon on your hangnail thing is how I feel every time I come into contact with nail polish remover. I’m all, “where did all the cuts come from?!”

    And “six months of leftovers” made me giggle.

Trackbacks

  1. Pinterest Party Round Up

Leave a Reply

