Skip to content

So my semester started.

August 31, 2012

So my semester started and it’s been a whirlwind.

I’m taking the following courses: Communication Research, Seminar in Media Studies, and Interdisciplinary Studies in Electronic Security and Privacy (cross-listed in Computer Science and Information & Decision Studies). I feel like a total n00b, even though my two Comm classes are full of first year grad students and my CS/IDS class is brand new itself. My cohort is great so far and my professors are simply wonderful. I love my department already, though I’m looking forward to that time in the next year when I’ll finally feel like a full participant and not an outsider.

I’m also teaching a section of public speaking, and I just adore my class already. The classroom is tiny, especially for 30 students, but we’ll make it work. The student body at UIC is incredibly diverse, so I’m excited to hear all my students’ self-introduction speeches next week.

The building that houses my Comm classes, my profs’ offices, my office, and my classroom is insane, but yesterday I discovered a shortcut. I almost feel like I belong.

I’m patiently awaiting my first paycheck and wishing I could take myself shopping with the money I don’t yet have.
I’m slowly finding the coffee joints and lounging spots on campus.
My legs are going to be killer after walking 2 miles each day with my big ass backpack.
(My kingdom for a comfy pair of TOMS.)
(Also a MacBook Air.)

I’m slowly getting back into the swing of things, but I can’t wait until the semester is in full swing. That’s when I feel most like myself.

But, boy am I glad it’s a three day weekend.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 31, 2012 2:29 pm

    Sending all the good vibes as you begin this new adventure. ❤

Leave a Reply

