Skip to content

a visual explanation

September 27, 2012

If you’re wondering why I no longer seem to have time to blog, this comparison provides a pretty good visual explanation. This is my planner. The top photo is mid-semester last spring. The bottom photo is this week. The left side is my to-d0 list. Appointments and meetings are written on the day. Yesterday I even made a separate to-do list for my two hour break in between classes. On that list was “Eat lunch.” I didn’t get to it.

It’s a busy pace.

Of course, two five page papers and a three page reflection due this week didn’t help, though that’s only about eight more pages than usual. By the time my noon deadline rolled around today, I was over it. Over this week. Over the workload. Over the topics. Luckily, my courses all cover different topics each week, and next week is my wheelhouse in at least one class. Yes, please, I’ll happily read an overview of rhetorical criticism. Oh, you want to throw in feminist rhetoric, too? Good, I’ve already read it. Hallelujah.

One more class today, then my students give speeches tomorrow, then another weekend of reading, writing, and grading. At least trips to IKEA and REI are in my future. Homegirl needs a new rug and water bottle.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2012 1:57 pm

    Holy cow. You are one busy lady! I hope you find some time to relax this weekend. Take a nap on an IKEA bed if you have to 🙂

  2. September 27, 2012 2:45 pm

    This is intense! Isn’t it also kind of awesome though? Man, I love school.

Leave a Reply

