Skip to content

Here’s to another year

December 26, 2012

Recap

2012 was one heck of a year, arguably my best year yet. Here are the successes in a nutshell:

  • got into 4 PhD programs
  • accepted admission to UIC
  • accepted a research associate affiliation with an NSF-funded program
  • won award for top graduate student in my department at NIU
  • graduated with my MA from NIU
  • became a member of the 20sb executive board
  • taught at two summer camps
  • moved to Oak Park
  • celebrated my 3rd wedding anniversary (what.)
  • started my PhD program and began my daily adventure to downtown Chicago
  • finished my first semester with all A’s

Peace. Settling In.

I’m not one to set intentions for new beginnings, but I feel like 2013 will be a bit of a fresh start. Though 2012 had its successes, it proved to be incredibly difficult. In 2013, I hope to feel more at peace in my heart and in my life and I hope to settle into our charming home and neighborhood. I want to feel a sense of calm in my spring semester that certainly lacked in my fall semester. I want to know that everything will be okay. I want to feel at home in my home. I want to begin to recognize familiar faces and say hello to people in my neighborhood. I want to make friends, I want to grow roots, I want to dig my feet into the soil and tell the world, “This is where I’m planted.”

For now.

So, to 2013, I offer a toast with my favorite raspberry latte. Cheers to peace, cheers to healing, and cheers to hearts that radiate joy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2012 1:12 am

    Congrats on all the successes! I, too, am hoping to feel a bit less frazzled in the new year. My business took off in 2012, and it was unexpected. I say, more yoga in 2013.

  2. December 30, 2012 12:40 am

    You accomplished a lot in 2012. Cheers to 2013!

  3. January 4, 2013 5:08 pm

    What an awesome year! Raspberry White Mochas were my magic drink in college. I would get them when I was having an awful day as an instant cure-all for my struggles. Only on bad days, though, lest I cheapen the magic. Senior year I introduced this to a freshmen friend and we had semi-regular Starbucks & Struggles dates.

Trackbacks

  1. MWF Seeks BFF. Seriously. « Belle Renee

Leave a Reply

