Skip to content

On juicing…

January 22, 2013

There has been a lot of internet buzz in the new year about the glory of juice and merits of juicers (and $200 blenders, but that’s another post).

 

I have a confession.

I don’t get juicers.

 

Don’t get me wrong, I love fruit. I love fruit in liquid form. I love fruit in juice form. But if I’m going to drink my fruit, I want all of it.

Thus, I make smoothies. Every morning, I throw a banana, some berries, some yogurt, and some OJ in my $20 blender. Breakfast is done in less than a minute.

I rinse the blender with hot water and wash it once a week. Cleanup is done in less than a minute.

 

So why oh why would I invest time and money into a juicer that doesn’t even give me the fiber and vitamins found in my fruit’s peels?

 

I mean, juice is delicious. I understand that. But if you spend $5 on produce for a couple days of juice, you still have to supplement it with some sort of breakfast, right? My fruit and yogurt smoothie is my breakfast, alongside a cup of coffee. Do you juicers also pick up a box of cereal?

It all seems… expensive. And wasteful. And time consuming.

 

You can keep your liquified kale, your de-solidified pears, your pulverized apples, and your dairy-free beverages. But feel free to tell me what I’m missing. Because I simply don’t understand.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2013 8:45 am

    I completely agree. Leaving all that good pulp and other stuff behind seems so wasteful to me! And yes, my $40 blender is working just fine. I don’t need to drop $200+ on a juicer. That’s just craziness.

  2. January 22, 2013 9:58 am

    I don’t get it either. But then again, I also don’t get the obsession with a lot of food fads.

  3. January 22, 2013 12:57 pm

    THIS. I use an immersion blender to make my daily smoothies and I rather enjoy my seeds and pulp that are leftover in there. Gives me something to satisfy my stomach with!

  4. Pink Imp permalink
    January 22, 2013 1:00 pm

    I don’t juice very often (Maybe twice a week, if I have the time) for all the reasons you’ve documented. The two (or many one) times that I do juice are because I have an iron and vitamin A deficiency and there is no way I can eat 3 bunches of spinach and carrots in a day! And those are the only two vegetables I actually juice with one apple and an orange to offset the taste. I feel really bad throwing away all that post juicing pulp… An interesting breakfast smoothie recipe that sustains me through lunch time is: banana + raw oats + some milk + yogurt + berries. And I don’t even need to buy cereal! ^_^

  5. January 22, 2013 1:05 pm

    I’m so glad you posted this. I actually debated buying a juicer, but decided against it. I think I want to be the kind of person who would use a juicer, but in reality I’m not. I don’t really care for drinking my meals, so smoothies don’t typically do it for it me either. I’d rather eat the kale and apples and berries in their whole forms. I guess I’m just not trendy.

  6. January 22, 2013 3:57 pm

    YES.

  7. January 23, 2013 3:22 pm

    I bought a juicer off craigslist that was still in the box for $40. juicers don’t have to be expensive. And when I do juice, I don’t juice fruit (hello sugar overload!) but rather vegetables, such as cucumber, spinach, kale. I will add half an apple just to add some sweetness to it and some lemon. We also have a small garden, so I get most of my juicing produce from there (like spinach, romaine and kale). To me, juicing is a great way to get LOADS of vegetables into my diet. I like to have one in the morning, then I have “breakfast” around 9. Juicing helped me get to my lowest weight in over a year. That, combined with some other dietary changes, has really helped me feel the best I’ve ever felt.

  8. January 24, 2013 10:50 pm

    Some people just have too much money so they don’t know what to do with it. $200 blender is an outrage. I don’t need it for my healthy daily juice. Love your blog though.

Leave a Reply

