Skip to content

I’m pretty particular about…

January 31, 2013

I’ve always considered myself fairly low-maintenance. I don’t take forever to get ready in the morning, I don’t have any particular diet restrictions, I don’t necessarily take my coffee in any certain way, and I tend to go with the flow. However, in the last few months, I’ve found myself saying “I’m pretty particular about…” to lots of different people. It made me reflect on justย how low-maintenance I truly am. Decide for yourself.

 

I’m pretty particular about my wardrobe. I don’t like to spend a ton of money, but I like good quality things. Therefore, most of my jeans are from Gap or Ann Taylor Loft. Shirts must be long enough to keep my muffin top belly covered when I move or bend. If I see a photo of myself in an unflattering outfit, the offending article of clothing gets donated.

I’m pretty particular about fruit. I love fruit, but only certain things. I love bananas, berries, and pineapple. I’ll enjoy citrus in small amounts (unless it’s blood orange season, then I want it in bulk quantities). But hand me a pear and I’ll look at you like you’re trying to give me a grenade.

I’m pretty particular about the spelling of my name. I don’t forgive you easily when you butcher my relatively normal name with its traditional spelling. I’m looking at you, Panera.

I’m pretty particular about certain toiletry products. I don’t care about my shampoo, eye liner, or toothpaste but my tampons must be o.b., my tissues must be Kleenex or Puffs, and heaven forbid I use lip balm that isn’t Chapstick. These days I’m also partial to Ulta brand makeup and Dove deodorant, though I can’t promise it’ll stay that way.

I’m pretty particular about beer. I don’t drink cheap beer. I avoid wheat beers that claim to have banana and cardamom flavors. I don’t like most flavored beers, unless it’s made by Leinenkugel’s, and even then I won’t drink their Berry Weiss. I only drink dark beers when it’s chilly or if the food I’m eating makes for an appropriate pairing. I generally stick to middle of the road amber ales or supper hoppy pale ales.

I’m pretty particular about my grocery shopping routine. I clip coupons. I sort coupons. I make a list. I show up to Meijer. I park on the east side of the lot and browse the store clockwise, from toiletries to paper goods to frozen foods to produce. I use only reusable grocery bags that I lay out in order for the bagger from sturdy to sucky.

I generally eat anything, but at times I can be pretty particular about very common things. I like carrots, but only if they’re raw. I don’t like fennel but I’ll eat Italian sausage. I prefer dark chocolate to milk chocolate, but I don’t like to dip my fruit in chocolate. I prefer fruity desserts to chocolatey desserts, dry wines to sweet wines, and hard cheese to soft cheese. Though I love lots of strange foods (brussels sprouts! tofu! sushi!), I typically hate anything with buttercream frosting, bleu cheese, pears, lamb, pork, and anise.

 

So, what are you pretty particular about?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2013 6:07 pm

    We have a lot of food particularities in common, though I loathe fruit desserts because I think it’s weird when fruit is warm. And I just started to like bleu cheese MUCH TO MY DISMAY because I still think it’s gross in theory.

    Berry Weiss is the only Leinenkugel I’ll drink!

  2. January 31, 2013 6:19 pm

    I can’t even think of anything I’m particular about off the top of my head, but I know that I am. I have to be. Everyone has their preferences. I love chocolate on my fruit, so so much. I love milk chocolate and I’m kind of sad you like dark better. It kind of breaks my heart.

    Any chance you’ll spare my heart and change my mind? No? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. January 31, 2013 8:49 pm

    You already know i’m all crazy about my food and stuff. I’m glad we share a hatred of fennel. Blech. But meanwhile – have you tried Wells Banana Bread beer? That shit is gooooood.

    • January 31, 2013 9:07 pm

      I have tried the banana bread beer but I’m also very particular about artificial banana flavors and it didn’t make the cut!

  4. January 31, 2013 9:55 pm

    I don’t think you’re too particular – those just seem like normal preferences so don’t worry ๐Ÿ™‚ Although in case you were wondering, I’ve been using the same kind & scent of deodorant for the last 10 years. No joke.

  5. February 1, 2013 9:18 am

    Life is too short to drink crappy beer, sister friend. If someone tries to offer me anything less than a craft beer, I’d rather just drink water. Why waste the calories?

  6. February 1, 2013 10:08 am

    I’m with the other Jenn. I too have been using the same deodorant and scent for (probably) 10 years. As for your grocery shopping routine, I love it. It’s always tough when the manfriend comes with because he messes up my routine. LET ME DO THIS!

    I’m particular about certain foods. For example, I love raw onions, but only in salads or on burgers — if on burgers, I only use the two outermost rings. Grilled or cooked onions, unless cut very finely, get tossed. I only eat one type of peanut butter with the same type of strawberry jelly. I’m very leery about new brands of jelly and don’t even bother finding new brands of PB.

    I’ve gotta think more on this… looks like I have a new blogging topic!

  7. February 1, 2013 12:06 pm

    I love this blogging topic! I’m crazy particular about where things are placed. Especially in my office–I’ve almost banned the cleaning ladies just because they like to move my stuff around so much.

    Again, really good topic! ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. I’m really particular about…

Leave a Reply

