Skip to content

Case of the Mondays

February 4, 2013

Today I answered the phone in the office I share with ten other teaching assistants. I’m always skeptical when the phone rings, because our number is one number off from a doctor’s office. Some switchboard has their speed dial wrong and often puts people through to us to make appointments. One of those phone calls came this morning.

Phone: ring ring ring

Me: “Communication TA Office, this is Renee.”

Lady: “Yes, who do I speak to in order to make an appointment for an abortion for my daughter?”

Me (thoughts): Oh sweet Jesus I was not prepared for this on a Monday morning.
Me (words): “I’m sorry, you’ve contacted an academic office. You’ll want to dial xxxx instead of xxxx.”

Me: “Oh okay, thank you.”

Mehangs up phone

Me (to colleague): “Yikes! You’ll never believe this. Someone’s having a shitty Monday!”
And then I proceed to tell my colleague allllll about the short but awkward conversation I just had. We laugh and laugh. Because, damn, that’s awkward.

AND THAT’S WHEN I REALIZE THE LADY IS STILL ON THE PHONE BECAUSE I NEVER HUNG IT UP.

She heard everything.
I’m sure she was already embarrassed enough.
Now I’m twice as embarrassed. Once for her, once for me.

 

Happy Monday.

May your daughter never need an abortion.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2013 5:56 pm

    Oh, God. I cringed throughout the whole thing. Poor lady. The good news, I suppose, is that she doesn’t know WHAT academic office she called…!

  2. March 4, 2013 3:54 pm

    Oh shit! That sucks!

Trackbacks

  1. Internet Finds: Week 6 | Reinventing Erin

Leave a Reply

