Skip to content

Scintilla ’13: Viva la vie boheme

March 15, 2013
The Scintilla Project

Talk about a time when you were driving and you sang in the car, all alone. Why do you remember this song and that stretch of road?

I’m modifying today’s Scintilla prompt. There’s a second person in the car with me.

Her name is Erin and we were on our way from Chicago to Indianapolis for a mini blogging meetup. I had made the most ridiculous playlist for the 6-ish hour drive, full of showtunes, boy bands, and terrible pop music that we could sing along to without getting bored.

Somewhere around Lafeyette, Indiana on I-65, we found ourselves in a horrible rainstorm. I’m talking barely visible conditions. My windshield wipers could not go fast enough. We could barely hear one another over the pounding of the rain.

As the driver, I was scared. No doubt about that. But it seemed too dangerous to pull over–what if someone didn’t see us? what if someone skidded into us?–so I just gripped the steering wheel and took it slowly.

Around the height of the rainstorm, my iPod started playing “La Vie Boheme” from the musical Rent. Something about the rhythm and rhyme of that song settled me. Erin and I both started singing along, giggling like 12 year olds at the dirty lyrics.

It was almost meditative, nearly chant-like, and exactly what I needed behind the wheel.

…to Ginsberg, Dylan, Cunningham and Cage… Lenny Bruce… Langston Hughes… to the stage, to Uta, to Buddha, Pablo Neruda, too. Why Dorothy and Toto went over the rainbow to blow off Auntie Em…. la vie boheme.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kat permalink
    March 16, 2013 7:11 am

    Boy band songs I listened to when I was 14 are forever my favorite choice for sing-alongs as well! šŸ™‚ I enjoy how even if you haven’t heard the song in three or five years, you still remember every single word – even those of the background singers. Ha.

  2. March 16, 2013 2:10 pm

    This is so, so true. Being able to sing along was always such a huge help when I had to drive in snow (which makes me paranoid and panicky and probably always will). But “La Vie Boheme”! That is such a great one. (And now i will have it in my head all day, and that’s JUST fine.)

Leave a Reply

