Skip to content

Four Eyes

July 26, 2010

Look, Mom, new glasses!

A few weeks ago, I had the most thorough eye examination in my life. I’m not sure if anyone had ever dilated my eyes prior to this visit. Let me tell you, driving home on a sunny day with dilated eyes and not-so-dark sunglasses? Sneezy-palooza + ouch! to the tenth power.

I was absolutely fascinated by the entire appointment though. For instance, I’ve been wearing glasses since the fourth grade. But apparently I’ve been over-correcting my vision. My optometrist told me that my eyes prefer a stronger prescription when my eyes aren’t dilated, but my “true” prescription is significantly weaker. See? Fascinating. So I’m now wearing my true prescription, which I suppose will make my eyes work less and make them less tired, right? Sure.

Secondly, I mentioned that my left eye has been irritated lately, thinking it was just dry eyes or sucky contacts. My optometrist flipped my eyelid inside-out and said, “You have allergies.” No I don’t. “Yes you do.” And guess what, world? I totally feel them now. Once it was made aware to me that I, indeed, am allergic to something in the air, I’m now aware of my sneezing, my eyes itching, my throat scratchy, and my nose tickling. She could totally tell just by looking at my eyelids. You tell me that’s not fascinating.

Lastly, since I rarely wear my contacts, she suggested I switch to daily lenses so I don’t throw out a pair of monthly lenses after two or three wears. Duh, why didn’t I think of that? And here’s a nice perk: daily contact lenses are sooo much more comfortable.

I can honestly say, in addition to my new look, my optometrist changed my life this month.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 9:25 am

    Love the new glasses! It’s amazing what a new prescription can do for you, enjoy πŸ™‚

  2. July 26, 2010 10:44 am

    Your glasses make me wish I NEEDED glasses. CUTE!

  3. July 26, 2010 12:22 pm

    This post just reminded me that I need to get my eyes checked. So thank you for the reminder, complete with the most adorable photos of you ever πŸ™‚

  4. Taylor permalink
    July 26, 2010 1:01 pm

    So cute. I wish I could pull off glasses like you!

  5. July 26, 2010 2:07 pm

    You and your glasses are so stinking cute! My last eye exam my doctor looked at my eyes w/ my contacts still in and goes “you haven’t changed these in awhile, have you?” No, why? “I can see the layer of build up on them, since you’ve worn them for longer than the 2 weeks.” EWWWWW.

    I also finally got new glasses last year after not having new frames since HIGH SCHOOL. Can we say my frames were outdated much? Haha.

  6. July 26, 2010 4:48 pm

    I just had my eye exam last week, and I cannot wait to get my new glasses. I’ve had my eyes dilated a few times, but I got to skip that step this year since I’m all pregnant.

    Anyhow, your new glasses are super cute and fun!

  7. July 26, 2010 4:54 pm

    I LOVE your new glasses!!!

  8. Mom permalink
    July 26, 2010 7:59 pm

    Love them! Wish I looked as cute as you in my new glasses…

  9. July 26, 2010 11:35 pm

    I LOVE glasses, and those are so cute! Makes me want a new pair.

  10. July 27, 2010 1:34 am

    Those glasses suit you SO MUCH and that optometry visit sounds amazing! It’s made me want to go find a kickass eye-doctor even though my glasses are still relatively new.

  11. July 27, 2010 6:29 am

    It’s funny because I’ve had allergies all my life but within the past year I noticed my eyes were bothering me more and more. Because of your blog about your eyes I paid special attention to my eyes this morning. I immediately noticed they were bothering me so I put some anti-allergy eye drops in and viola! Instantly better.

    Thank YOU for helping me realize I apparently have eye allergies!

  12. July 27, 2010 9:09 am

    The dilation thing is freaky! I remember having it done in my first visit before I had laser eye surgery, and driving home was VERY weird.

  13. July 27, 2010 9:51 am

    Super cute!

    And I’ve never had to have the dilation thing done. Yet! And I don’t want to after what everyone has said about it!

  14. July 28, 2010 6:15 am

    Yay for living changing events, especially when they come in little packages. You look really great with your new glasses! Beautiful dahling!

  15. July 28, 2010 12:16 pm

    Well aren’t you just the cutest thing in the ENTIRE WORLD. Love them, and happy to hear about the proper prescription for your peepers πŸ™‚

  16. Joel Vogland permalink
    January 29, 2013 1:08 pm

    eye allergies can be quite tough so i always avoid having eye allergies…

    Consider our website as well
    http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/white-spots-on-tongue/

Leave a comment