Skip to content

Double Deuce

April 14, 2008
Today’s my 22nd birthday. You know, after 21, everything else just sounds old. I meet, what do I have to look forward to now? Retirement?
How did I celebrate? Well, today I got up early to meet with my advisers about my thesis. It went surprisingly well! I have some hefty revisions before I present on the 28th, but I’m pleased with my own progress and the excellent feedback. I went to class nearly 20 minutes late, job searched at work, came back to my apartment and decided… it’s my freaking birthday, I’m putting rum in my Pepsi. It was a good decision.Let’s backtrack a little, shall we?
Friday: I applied for four Real Jobs. For some reason, the only positions I’m finding are all in Illinois… but after seeing how much fun those darned Chicago bloggers have, I’m ridiculously excited about the idea of moving to the state next door. This morning, I received a reply from one of the organizations. I sent my resume to an alum and she told me she’d be happy to pass it along. Yay. πŸ™‚

Saturday: The Beau Named Joe and his housemates graciously agreed to host a birthday bonanza. My good friend Becky and Molly had birthdays last week, so we threw a lovely party. It was an absolute blast. Pictures are posted at the end of the post.

And today? I’m spiking my own drinks and taking a nap.


Trust me, we’re a force to be reckoned with. (Ok, so we lost, but that was unusual.)

The birthday girls, Molly, Becky, and I, take our celebratory Jello shot.

Mmm, cake!
14 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenn permalink
    April 14, 2008 6:38 pm

    Happy birthday!

    It would be oh so awesome if you lived here!

  2. Jamie Lovely permalink
    April 14, 2008 7:05 pm

    You should definitely come visit and hang out even if you don’t get those jobs. BUT we all know you will!

  3. Arielle permalink
    April 14, 2008 7:11 pm

    Happy birthday!! And good luck finding a Real Job. Job hunting blows.

  4. jessica maria permalink
    April 14, 2008 7:16 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    I’ve only been to Chicago once, but it was the best time EVER! Good luck with the job hunt πŸ™‚

  5. Katelin permalink
    April 14, 2008 10:49 pm

    happiest of happy birthdays! woo!

  6. Tipp permalink
    April 14, 2008 11:39 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

  7. andrea permalink
    April 15, 2008 12:27 am

    Happy birthday!

    After 21, you have to look forward to being 25, when you can rent a car… woo hoo!

  8. eyesaswindows permalink
    April 15, 2008 2:18 am

    Happy Birthday! Haha your profile pic just made me totally bust out! I also love celebratory jello shots!

  9. Nate Ring permalink
    April 15, 2008 3:43 am

    What a fun party. I wish I would have snapped a shot or two of the events post cake eating…

    Happy Birthday! Glad you had a good time.

  10. stylishhandwriting permalink
    April 15, 2008 4:48 am

    Happy day! It looks like y’all had a great partay. And so exciting about the job positions — here’s to hoping you get one in Chicago so you can hang out with those chicks!

    I hope your bday dinner was incredible!

  11. Susie permalink
    April 15, 2008 7:13 pm

    Ohh happy birthday a bit late!!

    And you’re right that Chicago bloggers are the best…sometimes I totally get the urge to just get up and move there!

  12. sandy permalink
    April 16, 2008 2:27 am

    happy (belated) birthday!
    and yes, come to chicago!!

  13. magda permalink
    April 16, 2008 4:31 am

    Happy happy birthday! Glad to see you’ve been celebrating well, and hope your recovery is just as successful πŸ™‚

  14. Phil permalink
    April 16, 2008 4:25 pm

    I know what you mean, but birthdays still end up being pretty fun. Scarily enough, I turned 24 a few months ago, but by golly I had a blast anyway. And as Andrea so eloquently put it, next year I’ll be able to rent a car without paying the extra arm and/or leg for it.

Leave a comment