Skip to content

Looking back.

September 25, 2009

This is something that should probably be saved for my two year blogiversary coming up in November, but I’m inspired right now. I re-read my very first post. A couple quotes that struck me:

“I decided a couple weeks ago to apply to MFA programs in writing… so I figured I really ought to start blogging. Aside from the fact that I’m a totally geeky blogger-fangirl, it’s probably not a bad idea to just write and get some feedback. Here’s the kicker: I’m super shy online and hate the vulnerability of keeping a blog. In fact, I hate knowing people are reading what I write… I don’t know how I write so many papers for class. So consider this the first step to overcoming that fear.”
Did I apply to MFA programs? No.
Am I still shy online? No.
Do I hate knowing people are reading what I write? ABSOLUTELY.
Have I overcome my fear? Probably.

“So, recently, I decided that being a children’s book author would be the coolest. A far cry from law school, yes, but that is probably a really good thing. Honestly, I’d like to write kids’ books, own a coffee shop, and do some activism on the side. One step at a time… I just freaking love coffee shops, though.”
Am I a children’s book author? No.
But am I a writer? Yes.
Do I own a coffee shop? No.
But do I spend all my time managing a super fantastic coffee shop? ABSOLUTELY.

I tried my hand at a few different things… thinking I wanted the recognition of an advanced degree, or that I wanted the recognition of a prestigious job. But then I scrapped it all and did the one thing I knew makes me happy — coffee and writing.

I’m not just writing for my own little blog any more. I’ll be embarking on a social media journey with the lovely Jamie soon and some fabulous Chicago ladies. In addition, my coffee shop has a Twitter and will soon have its own blog. I’ll be sure to let you all know!

And, well, coffee has become my passion. Even when things break down and Mr. Grumpy Customer gets angry with me. Sometimes coffee requires big girl pants. But I got those. And I’ll rock my big girl pants (and apron) for the love of coffee (and the discount).

May you always be true to yourself and your passions. And may you eventually recognize what those passions are. And may you have the GUTS to pursue them.
Happy weekend!

(Be sure to check out the upcoming Gar-blog sale I’m going to head up. Details on 20SB.)

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2009 6:26 pm

    Super excited to have you be apart of this new project. I need to come out to the burbs one day and have some hot chocolate and hang out out since I don’t do coffee 😉

    xoxo

  2. Melissa permalink
    September 25, 2009 6:36 pm

    I love looking back on the past; where you wanted to be, where you expected to be. I’m glad you can do that & realize that you’re very happy with where you are 🙂

  3. September 25, 2009 6:53 pm

    oh yay so excited to hear about the new project. and love looking back at your old post, i was not nearly as open, haha.

  4. September 25, 2009 8:28 pm

    I love this. I think it’s so cool to look back and see where you came from.

    I, too, have grand ambitions to write children’s books. Probably not going to happen, though.

  5. September 25, 2009 10:54 pm

    I LOVE this. I’ve said for the last few years that I don’t know exactly what to do about it, but I know that the most important/fun things in my life have been food, yoga, wine, PEOPLE, and above all – writing. And I’m finding myself in opportunities to do ALL of it. It’s a blessing, really. 🙂

  6. September 26, 2009 2:32 am

    WOW!! This is so inspiring. I’m glad that you do all those things that you find passionate. You go girl!!!

  7. September 26, 2009 10:18 am

    I just came here from Ashley’s blog. This post is really inspiring. I’ve daydreamed about a lot of career or academic paths for myself (including running a cafe and getting an MFA) over the year, and it’s really nice to see someone in a similar situation who’s actually made it work for her. I love that. I’m a bit limited by my nomadic life (saw “nomad” under your description too), but I think I can make something really great happen for me too. If I only I really liked coffee!

  8. September 26, 2009 7:27 pm

    I can’t wait to see what you ladies are cooking up! Considering how much I love you and Jamie alone, I know it’s going to be amazing.

  9. September 28, 2009 7:54 am

    I, too, love this.

    I keep jumping around with what I want to do with my life – advanced degrees, prestigious jobs, scrapping everything and doing nothing – and I’m so happy that you’ve found something that works for you.

    This is why I follow you.

  10. September 28, 2009 11:11 am

    knowing what makes you happiest is such a gift. I’m still on that journey, trying to figure out what brings me joy (and how to get paid for it).

    good luck on your new social media projects!!

  11. September 29, 2009 12:24 am

    I’m so excited you are managing/running the coffee shop! I can definitely tell a difference and you always seem so garsh-darn happy!

  12. September 29, 2009 3:06 pm

    Things change. Life changes. But hey, you’re still writing and blogging. That has to be a good thing, right?

  13. September 29, 2009 7:41 pm

    I love that you’ve made so many positive changes and are pursuing what you love.

  14. October 7, 2009 12:06 pm

    I want to hear more about the gar blog sale!

Leave a comment